Giro d’Italia Stage 10

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

Ah yes…the infighting within professional cycling continues. Everyone is always looking for a reason to bring each other down, and the best answer to that is with a victory salute and big smile across the finish line.

The latest drama is Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) accusing Cavendish of holding onto his team car on the way up Mount Etna back in the groupetto.

“He should only be happy that he’s still in the race, he should have been disqualified for being attached to the car for a long time during the climb on Etna,”

“It’s shameful, everyone else kills themselves to get to the top inside the cut off time while someone else holds onto a car without the authorities intervening.” said Ventoso.

Isn’t it the pot calling the kettle back when one sprinter accuses another of using the odd “sticky bottle” or “magic spanner”? It’s unfortunate that Robbie and Brownie got eliminated by the time cut on Mount Etna, but I’m sure they could have gotten away with some team car assistance if they wanted to.

Tomorrow’s stage should be good. The sawtooth profile will be sure to create some massive splits in the field. Watch out for Scarponi who will be looking for a win near his home town.

Cam’s Giro Diary

You can also follow Cam Meyer on twitter and on his facebook page

Cam is a little tired at the moment and will resume his daily updates in a couple days. Frankly, I don’t know how he’s done such a terrific job so far!

Final Kilometers


courtesy of Veeral Patel, Sirotti and RCS

Stage 10 Results

1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 4:00:49
2 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team
3 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre – ISD
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
5 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky Procycling
6 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team
7 Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
8 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago – CSF Inox
9 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) BMC Racing Team
10 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini – Neri Sottoli

60 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard
101 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo
156 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:10
157 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 0:01:13
184 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo

General Classification after Stage 10

1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 37:04:40
2 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad 0:00:59
3 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:19
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:01:21
5 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:01:28
6 David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:37
7 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana 0:01:41
8 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 0:01:47
9 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team 0:02:21
10 Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team

100 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:48:3
149 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:06:53
183 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 1:26:12
184 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:27:40
188 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:34:59

Editors' Picks