Giro d’Italia Stage 12 – Who Said The Giro Was Boring?

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

So I eat my words from yesterday. Cavendish wins an epic stage with the help of Renshaw’s legendary leadout and we get to see Robbie Hunter brawl with Sacha Modolo. We all know Hunter is a bad-ass mofo who grew up in the hood of Johannesburg so I have no doubt who would come out on top of this one.

If you could see a fight between any two cyclists, spanning any generation, who would it be?

The prize for the best pair-up is a Shut Up Legs t-shirt. Winner will be tallied by the number of “likes” on their comment.

Cam’s Giro Diary

You can also follow Cam Meyer on twitter and on his facebook page

Final Kilometers


courtesy of Veeral Patel, Sirotti, and RCS

Stage 12 Results

1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 4:17:25
2 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky Procycling
3 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre – ISD
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
5 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Quickstep Cycling Team
6 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
7 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago – CSF Inox
8 Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
9 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad
10 Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por) Team RadioShack

24 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo
154 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo
172 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo
178 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard

General Classification after Stage 12

1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 44:55:16
2 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad 0:00:59
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:01:21
4 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:28
5 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD
6 David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:37
7 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana 0:01:41
8 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 0:01:47
9 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quickstep Cycling Team 0:02:21
10 Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team

114 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 1:01:44
145 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:15:50
181 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 1:41:22
182 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:42:50
186 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:52:26

Editors' Picks