Giro d’Italia Stage 8

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

Stage 8 was a textbook display of chess-on-wheels that worked out beautifully for the Italian ProConti team Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli.

Right off the bat Farnese Vini-Neri Sottol sends a pawn up the road during a stage for the sprinters. The peloton calls “piano, piano” for 200km and rests their legs for the Etna tomorrow, the remainder of Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli gets to sit-in while the sprinter teams reel-in the break over the final 30km. At 1.5km remaining during a lull in the pace with an oncoming technical finish, Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini-Neri Sottol) hits the bunch while everyone sits there looking at each other. Kaboom! Can’t get much better than that!

It was Oscar Gatto’s biggest win of his career. Of course he had to have the legs to back up the final 1.5km, but I suspect nearly anyone in the peloton could have done that if they had the balls to do so right at that moment. As they say, it’s not the break that gains time, it’s how much time the peloton allows.

For the remainder of Gatto’s life he’ll be resting off the laurels of beating Contador in a stage of the Giro. And good on him. I love seeing a move like Gatto’s and the race favorite having the kahunas to follow. For once we see Contador ride with some panache!

Make sure you stay up and tonight and watch the first high mountain stage where the riders face two ascents up the Etna. They’re both 20km long, a constant gradient of 6%, and 1892m high. Man, I wish I was there in person to see this. There’s gonna be fireworks!

Cam’s Giro Diary

You can also follow Cam Meyer on twitter and on his facebook page

A day for the sprinters. So they said. It started that way with only two guys breaking away from the start. The peleton allowed them out to over 10 minutes as it was a very long stage.

We covered the course quickly with a tail wind behind us all day. The final 30km were really fast as the sprint trains set up there men for the finish and a last scramble to reel in the escapees.

Everyone knew the final would be a little crazy with sharp corners, a downhill and then an uphill within the last 3km’s.

Looking after Christophe and getting him safely through the finish without losing time was the teams main objective for the day and the guys did this successfully with yet another top ten finish for Le Mevel.

Unfortunately Matt Wilson hit the deck hard inside the last ten kilometres and took some major skin off hit hands and butt. He finished tho and is right to start tomorrow.

My legs are feeling good and I am looking forward to tomorrows stage as we tackle Mount Etna. I hope to be there and help out Christophe as much as possible on the climbs. Its going to be a hard day but I hope you all enjoy the coverage and cheer on the Garmin Cervelo Team.



Final Kilometers


courtesy of Veeral Patel, Sirotti and RCS

Stage 8 Results

1 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini – Neri Sottoli 4:59:45
2 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard
3 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:00:05
4 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) BMC Racing Team
5 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
6 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky Procycling
7 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team
8 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
9 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo
10 Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto

113 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Team RadioShack 0:01:22
144 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 0:01:40
145 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:43
146 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard
165 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo
190 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team
193 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:08:08

General Classification after Stage 8

1 Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 28:09:49
2 Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Blr) HTC-Highroad 0:00:02
3 Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad
4 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:05
5 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:00:13
6 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:00:14
7 Pablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:22
8 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:24
9 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:00:28
10 Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:33

33 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:36:34
66 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:49:09
181 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 0:58:17
189 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Team RadioShack 1:03:19
190 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:03:47
191 Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo 1:06:16
193 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team 1:16:31

Editors' Picks