Le Tour Diary | Stage 18

by CyclingTips

This year’s Tour has had everything. Racing for time on the descents, GC contenders in breakaways, a left field maillot jaune, and a World Champion who is worth his weight in gold. And it’s not over yet. There’ll be fireworks on Alpe d’Huez tomorrow!

I don’t fully understand why the GC leaders (and teams) would have let Andy Schleck into the break without covering the move. Cadel rode his guts out to bring back 2 minutes from Andy on the Galibier without any help, and everyone knew he was the one with the most to loose if he didn’t. Even though I want to see Cadel win the Tour, Andy rode a ballsy race which sets him and Frank up nicely for tomorrow on Alpe d’Huez. Cadel is still in an excellent position however and there’s not a doubt in my mind that he won’t pull it off. Life never gives you anything until you’re ready for it, and Cadel is finally ready.

Tomorrow will be a short stage at just under 110km. It will most likely be a sprint to the base of the Alpe, and then it’ll be game on!

Oz Cycling

courtesy of OzCycling.com


courtesy of Veeral Patel, Sirotti and myself

Stage 18 Profile

Stage 18 Results

1 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 6:07:56
2 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:02:07
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:02:15
4 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:02:18
5 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 0:02:21
6 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar 0:02:27
7 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:02:33
8 Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 0:03:22
9 Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:03:25
10 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:03:31

61 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Leopard Trek 0:31:17
80 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:33:44
101 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Sky Procycling 0:35:40
109 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad
111 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad

General Classification after Stage 18

1 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar 79:34:06
2 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:00:15
3 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:01:08
4 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:01:12
5 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre – ISD 0:03:46
6 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
7 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:04:44
8 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:05:20
9 Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:07:08
10 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 0:09:27

79 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 1:57:26
86 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Leopard Trek 2:01:35
107 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Sky Procycling 2:25:58
141 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad 2:53:33
161 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 3:12:23

Points Classification

1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 300 pts
2 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team 285
3 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 230
4 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo 215
5 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 180

Mountains Classification

1 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 74 pts
2 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 72
3 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 70
4 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 56
5 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 50

Young Rider Classification

1 Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 79:43:42
2 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar 0:00:33
3 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling 0:03:10
4 Jerome Coppel (Fra) Saur – Sojasun 0:05:54
5 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ 0:05:56

Stage 19 Preview

Editors' Picks