Le Tour Diary | Stage 4

by CyclingTips

As we sit here in McDonalds at 11pm in the middle of Brittany still searching for an vacant hotel room within 200kms I reflect on everything that didn’t quite go right for us today. Quite often, the closer you get to the TdF, the less you actually see of it. We spent most of the day chasing the race trying to get good vantage points to shoot from without much luck. You can hardly feel sorry for us though. A bad day at the Tour de France is a thousand times better than a great day at the office, and there’s nowhere else I’d rather be.

Veeral didn’t get the shots he wanted and I could tell he was quite disappointed. I’m sure it happens to all photographers from time to time and there’s a lot of luck involved in this game. I had an absolute blast out there today, but this is his one shot to have a crack at this and every moment is precious to him. Things don’t always go as planned, but I still think he did pretty damn good for what he had to work with.

Now to find a bed to sleep in tonight and get some better food than McDonalds!


Final Kilometers

Oz Cycling


courtesy of Veeral Patel, Stefano Sirotti and myself

Stage 4 Profile

Stage 4 Results

1. Cadel Evans, BMC Racing Team, in 4:11:39
2. Alberto Contador, Saxo Bank Sungard, at s.t.
3. Alexandre Vinokourov, Pro Team Astana, at 00:00
4. Rigoberto Uran, Sky Procycling, at s.t.
5. Philippe Gilbert, Omega Pharma – Lotto, at s.t.
6. Thor Hushovd, Team Garmin – Cervelo, at s.t.
7. Frank Schleck, Team Leopard-Trek, at s.t.
8. Samuel Sanchez, Euskaltel – Euskadi, at s.t.
9. Broeck Jurgen Van Den, Omega Pharma – Lotto, at s.t.
10. Andreas Kloden, Team RadioShack, at s.t.

46 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:00:43
83 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Sky Procycling 0:01:07
136 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Leopard Trek 0:04:17
138 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad
147 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad

General Classification after Stage 4

1 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo 13:58:25
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:00:01
3 Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek 0:00:04
4 David Millar (GBr) Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:08
5 Andreas Klöden (Ger) Team RadioShack 0:00:10
6 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling
7 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:00:12
8 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling
9 Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek
10 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard Trek

60 Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard 0:02:40
85 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Sky Procycling 0:04:00
95 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad 0:04:22
113 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Leopard Trek 0:06:10
121 Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad 0:06:52

Stage 5 Preview

Editors' Picks