Jayco Herald Sun Tour Stage 2

by CyclingTips

Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg won the bunch kick in stage 2 of the Sun Tour, but who is this man who managed to outsprint Baden Cooke, Steel Von Hoff, Tom Palmer and Jon Cantwell? Here’s what I’ve been able to find out…

Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg came in 17th in this year’s U23 World Championships this year and is from Pretoria, SA. He rides with South African based Team MTN Qhubeka who Darryl Impey also signed with at the beginning of 2011 (but later went to Team NetApp). He’s got a Batchelor of Sport Sciences from the University of Pretoria. I’d say he’s got a pretty good start into his pro cycling career only two years into it.

And what is Team MTN Qhubeka? Well, MTN Business is a division of the MTN Group, which provides business communication solutions businesses and the public sector. Qhubeka is a volunteer organisation which supports various children and adult projects around South Africa.


Don’t forget to pick the winner of today’s stage by noon AEST today to win a hotlap around Arthur’s Seat in the SRAM support vehicle and SRAM Apex prizepack. It’s the best seat in the house and an experience few people get to.

Also, the Sun Tour Trivia Competition winner will be announced at 4pm AEST today. Enter your answers to win some Rapha kit and accessories.

Have a great weekend and I’ll see you at Bay 13 on Arthurs Seat tomorrow! I’ll be riding down from Cafe Racer at 8:30am, so feel free to come along. I don’t want to be sticking my nose in the wind, so the more the merrier!

Thank you to Veeral Patel and Jarrod Partridge for their wonderful photos of yesterday’s stage 2.

Stage 2 Results

1 Reinardt JANSE VAN RENSBURG MTN 3:24:34
2 Baden COOKE SBS 3:24:34
3 Steele VON HOFF GEN 3:24:34
4 Thomas PALMER DPC 3:24:34
5 Jonathan CANTWELL VAU 3:24:34
6 Alexander SEROV RUS 3:24:34
7 Adam HANSEN OLO 3:24:34
8 Egor SILIN KAT 3:24:34
9 Alexei MARKOV RUS 3:24:34
10 Alexander PORSEV KAT 3:24:34


General Classification After Stage 2

2 Nathan HAAS GEN 00:15.0
3 Jonas AEN JORGENSEN SBS 00:18.0
4 Reinardt JANSE VAN RENSBURG MTN 00:22.0
5 Jens DEBUSSCHERE OLO 00:23.0
7 Joseph LEWIS AUS 02:50.0
8 Koen DE KORT SKS 02:51.0
9 Bernard SULZBERGER VAU 02:53.0
10 Tim GUDSELL PBR 03:07.0


Full stage 2 results


Editors' Picks