CCCC Glenvale Criteriums – 13 Nov 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Although renowned as a sprinter friendly circuit, some aggressive racing saw most of the regular fast finishers leave Glenvale Crescent empty handed this morning.

A Grade saw a particularly brutal race of attrition, as break followed break, keeping the field strung out for the duration, with riders blown off the back in one’s and two’s.

Jack Cummings (Jayco VIS) and Trent Morey (Charter Mason) made the early move, with Sean Finning and Stuart Smith keeping the VIS colours to the front in the next break with Leigh Smith (O’Mara). Aaron Eynaud (Charter Mason), Michael Knoff (John West) and Nick Aitken (AIS) also spent time off the front but none could make the break stick.

In the final laps Australian Paracyclist of the Year Michael Gallagher spear-headed a move with Warren Knevitt (O’Mara), Stuart Smith and Nick Walker (Fly V Australia), and the quartet managed to still hold a slender advantage at the bell, only to find the survivors of the main field hot on their heels as the turned the final corner. Walker made a brave effort to hold on with a long sprint, but got pipped by the slightly fresher legs of Cummings, with Leigh De Luca, Pat Lane (AIS), Danny Kah (Cycling-Inform) and Dean Johnstone (O’Mara) rounding out the places.

The early move in B Grade quickly paid off as regular strongmen Nick Bien (Bike Gallery) and James Bennett were joined by powerful ex-boxer Andrew Kujath. The trio combined well and steadily distanced the chasers and were never in any danger of being reeled in. Their advantage was so big by race end that when Bien overcooked the penultimate corner and slid out, he was able to re-mount and ride to the finish in thrid place still well clear of the chasers.

Bennett outsprinted Kujath for the win, while the bunch sprint for fourth went to Tom Quirk (O’Mara) ahead of Los Angeles Olympian Gary Trowell and Adam Versteege (Zoom Video Racing). Steph Ives (cycling-Inform) won the women’s race ahead of Helen Kelly (Kelly Cycle Coaching).

Shaun Grogan (DSG Racing) and Brenton Jukes (Pinnacle Cycles) performed a similar feat in C Grade, riding a virtual two-up time trial for most of their 50 minute race. Just past the half way mark Drew Morey and Lucas Hamilton jumped out of the main field in pursuit and closed to within 10 seconds, before losing a little ground to eventually finish 25 seconds adrift.

Grogan took the win ahead of Jukes, while Hamilton held off Morey for third, just ahead of the chasers led home by Mark Doran, David Randall and Ashley Watkins. Ruby Greig-Hurtig (CCCC Elite) won the women’s sprint from Emma Lyall and Lisa Hanley (Cycling-Inform).

Completing the set of successful breaks was a junior dominated move of a dozen committed riders that went away early in D Grade. New-comer Matt Down impressed with his finishing burst to take the win ahead of David Koroknai, Lynton Williams and Sam Abrams (O’Mara). Lauretta Hanson (Kosdown) looked comfortable in the break and ran away with the women’s win, while Mel Hunter was the first home in the main bunch.

Thanks to Brian Reeves and Grant Boydell for Comissairing this morning’s racing.

A Grade 60 mins + 3 laps 42 starters
1 Jack Cummings CCCC
2 Nick Walker CCCC
3 Leigh De Luca CCCC
4 Pat Lane CCCC
5 Danny Kah CCCC
6 Dean Johnstone CCCC

B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 57 starters
1 James Bennet CCCC
2 Andrew Kujath CCCC
3 Nick Bien Blackburn
4 Tom Quirk CCCC
5 Gary Trowell CCCC
1 Steph Ives CCCC
2 Helen Kelly CCCC

C Grade 50 mins + 3 laps 56 starters
1 Shaun Grogan CCCC
2 Brenton Jukes CCCC
3 Lucas Hamilton Ararat
4 Drew Morey CCCC
1Ruby Greig-Hurtig CCCC
2 Emma Lyall CCCC
3 Lisa Hanley Hawthorn

D Grade 45 mins + 3 laps 58 starters
1 Matt Down CCCC
2 David Koroknai CCCC
3 Lynton Williams CCCC
4 Sam Abrams CCCC
1 Lauretta Hanson Macedon Ranges
2 Mel Hunter CCCC

E Grade 30 mins 27 starters
1 Hamish Webber Blackburn
2 Marcus Heron CCCC
3 Connor Davidson Blackburn
4 Georgia Cummings CCCC
5 Mietta Greig-Hurtig CCCC
6 Emma Chilton CCCC
7 Skyler Kah CCCC
8 Angus Mennen CCCC
9 no 8
10 Josh Kah CCCC
11 Lachlan Williams CCCC
12 Bryce Marquhardt CCCC
13 Luke Forbes CCCC
14 Bradley Puts CCCC
15 Riley Nicholls CCCC
16 Krista Imberger CCCC
17 Madeline Currie CCCC
18 Bill Simpson CCCC
19 Riley Nichols CCCC
20 Shanelle Freeman CCCC
21 Sam Tickner CCCC
22 Grace Mennen CCCC
23 Allison Sturt CCCC
24 Jude Templeton CCCC
25 Fletcher Fuller CCCC
26 Matt Hunt CCCC
27 Michael Doyle CCCC

Editors' Picks