CCCC Glenvale Criteriums – 27 Movember 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

For the second week in a row, following a day of torrential rain and the forecast of more to follow on Sunday morning, a surprising lack of rain meant racing could go ahead as planned at Glenvale Crescent. A few short bursts of light drizzle was the worst riders had to deal in the first session, but all competitors handled the conditions well under the watchful eye of our experience race marshals and mentors. With rain still falling in many parts of Melbourne, numbers were a little down, but the smaller fields allowed for plenty of attacking and exciting racing.

A Grade got into the attacks straight away, with James Bennett (John West Cycling), David Mulhall, Chris Tymms (o2 Racing) and Dale Woonton opening a handy advantage early on. Jason Spencer (Budget Forklifts) and Sam Rix (CBD Cycles) were also aggressive in the first 20 minutes, but both missed the move that counted, kicked off by Michael Gallagher and Mulhall, with Mo Sawford (Apollo), Aaron Eynaud (Charter Mason) and Nick Bien (Bike Gallery) quick to follow. A couple of laps later Jack Cummings (Jayco VIS) and Bennett bridged to make seven out front, and despite the best efforts of David Kelly (Total Rush), Matt Shea (VeloCino) and Spencer, the break smoothly established a lead approaching 30 seconds.

The break kept things tight until three to go when the attacks started, but were still together at the bell when Mulhall launched a big move, to lead into the final corner by 50 metres. Gallagher had taken charge to the chase, which set team mate Cummings up perfectly to launch his sprint, and overhaul Mulhall in the final metres for the win. Eynaud held Cummings? wheel in the sprint and also snuck in ahead of the tiring Mulhall, with Bennett fourth ahead of Bien and Sawford.

There were also plenty of attacks early on in B Grade, with the strong women?s contingent including Nic Whitburn (LIV Giant), Chloe McConville (Jayco VIS), Amy Bradley and Carly Williams all featuring in multiple moves. Adam Versteege (Zoom Video Racing), Steve Camilleri and Stefan Imberger (Mainline) were as active as ever, but couldn?t manage to pick the winning move that formed late in the race.

Dan Pickering (Pro-Motion), Hayden Eynaud and Camden Bush (both Charter Mason) and Sam Pickering (Artisan Cycles), broke first, hotly pursued by Matt Ross (CCCC Elite) and Darren Cathie (Burnley Finance), with Daniel Nelson (Croydon Cycleworks), Rich Cormick (Burnley) and Mitchell Barry (Quick Cycle Coaching) just behind them. Once the three groups combined, it was all over for the main bunch, save for Kyle Thompson and Luke Jones (O?Mara), who crossed to the leaders with a huge effort.

The frantic pace over the final three laps saw both Burnley riders pop, but Thompson clearly had strength to spare when he made his winning move before the final corner to win well. Nelson led the rest of the break home ahead of Barry, Bush, Sam Pickering, Ross, Jones and Eynaud, with Versteege the first home from the chase group. Jodie Batchelor (Giant/SKCC) saved her main effort for the sprint, and picked up the women?s win in her first B Grade outing, ahead of Kath O?Shea (Torq) and Bradley.

C Grade defied the break away trend with the only full field sprint of the day, despite the best efforts of Ruby Greig-Hurtig (CCCC Elite), Mark Doran, Darryl Snibson and Tristan Wright (Seight Custom Clothing) to shake things up. The dash was a close run thing, with the impressive mo of Andrew Gent (Kelly Cycle Coaching) hitting the line first on the right hand side of the finishing straight, a wheel ahead of Doran. Across to the left, Oscar Stevenson held out another of the mo army, Gareth Heitmann (Trail Mix), while Ruby Greig-Hurtig capped off her attacking race with the women?s win head of Madeleine Cardillo and her cousin Nina Greig-Towers.

The D Grade bunch split midway through their 45 minute race, with 15 riders out front. The back group came close to rejoining the leaders on a couple of occasions but couldn?t quite close the gap, and eventually finished around 30 seconds down. After a couple of runner?s up placings behind solo break away winners, David Koroknai (CCCC Elite) made sure no one escaped in the final laps, and smashed out a great sprint to take the win which qualifies him for C Grade comfortably.

Fellow juniors Sam Abrams (O?Mara), Bradlee Friedmann and Chloe Baggs (Quick Cycle) were next home, with Baggs? fine fourth place obviously giving her the women?s win. Second went to debutant Emma Weir ahead of Hannah MacDougall (Charter Mason) back in the chase group.

CCCC crits continue at Sandown on Tuesday evening. Access to the circuit is available from 5.30pm via the Princes Highway entrance. Racing starts at 6.30pm sharp for all grades.

Race Results

A Grade 60 mins + 3 laps 32 starters

1 Jack Cummings CCCC

2 Aaron Eynaud Blackburn

3 David Mulhall Coburg

4 James Bennett CCCC

5 Nick Bien Blackburn

6 Mo Sawford CCCC

B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 40 starters

1 Kyle Thompson CCCC

2 Daniel Nelson Blackburn

3 Mitchell Barry Blackburn

4 Camden Bush CCCC

5 Sam Pickering CCCC

1 Jodie Batchelor St Kilda

2 Katherine O’Shea Dirt Riders

3 Amy Bradley St Kilda

C Grade 50 mins + 3 laps 28 starters

1 Andrew Gent St Kilda

2 Mark Doran CCCC

3 Oscar Stevenson Hawthorn

4 Gareth Heitmann CCCC

1 Ruby Greig-Hurtig CCCC

2 Madeleine Cardillo Brunswick

3 Nina Greig-Towers CCCC

D Grade 45 mins + 3 laps 30 starters

1 David Koroknai CCCC

2 Sam Abrams CCCC

3 Bradlee Freidman CCCC

4 Chloe Baggs Blackburn

1 Chloe Baggs Blackburn

2 Emma Weir CCCC

3 Hannah MacDougall CCCC

E Grade 30 mins 11 starters

1 Marcus Heron CCCC

2 Mietta Greig-Hurtig CCCC

3 Terance Hore Preston

4 Georgia Cummings CCCC

5 Angus Mennen CCCC

6 Connor Davidson Blackburn

7 Bill Simpson CCCC

8 Krista Imberger CCCC

9 Bradley Puts CCCC

10 Sam Bascombe CCCC

11 Madeleine Currie CCCC

Editors' Picks