CCCC Sandown Twilight Crits – 22 Movember 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

It proved to be a night of bunch sprints at Sandown, with big fields keeping all break attempts in check.

Andrew Heraud (O’Mara Cycles) enjoyed a long solo break in B Grade before he was finally chased down just as the final two laps were signalled, but his was really the only break to spend significant time ahead of the chasers.

The A Grade win went to Steele Von Hoff (Genesys Wealth Systems) by a large margin. Von Hoff chose to sprint along the left hand barrier, while the rest of the field, led home by Nick Walker (Fly V) went right. Brenton Jones (Torq), Duncan Smith (O2 Racing), Floris Goesinen (Drapac-Porsche) and Jason Spencer (Budget Forklifts) rounded out the podium.

There was an equally convincing winner in B Grade, with Dean Appleton (Bike Gallery) romping home ahead of Mitchell Barry (Quick Cycle Coaching), who narrowly held off Tim Jamison, Daniel Nelson (Croydon Cycleworks) and Jordan Stannus (Jones Cycles). Miranda Griffiths (XOSize) did more than her share of pace making throughout the race, and was rewarded with the win in the women’s division.

After a run of minor places, David Randall (Bicycle Superstore) finally cracked it for a big win in C Grade, with a determined sprint to hold off a late challenge from Scott Charlton and earn a B Grade start next time round. Eddie Relin and Garteth Heitmann (Trail Mix) were next home, while Jodie Batchelor (Giant/SKCC) sprinted home ahead of Madeleine Cardillo to take the top women’s cash.

First-timer Daniel Reid showed the D Grade sprinters a clean pair or heels with his win ahead of Linton Williams, Brendan Cleary (O’Mara) and Scott Purtill. Fifth home was ladies winner Alex Weston with another great sprint, with the minor women’s places going to Bridgette ‘Champ’ Farrell and Sophie Weston.

Editors' Picks