CCCC Sandown Twilight Crits Tuesday Movember 8 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

After torrential rain this morning, it was something of a surprise to be greeted by a fine afternoon, with near perfect conditions for racing.

Don’t forget to get onboard Mo Sawford’s Movember campaign, and help the fight against depression, prostate cancer and other men’s health issues. Full details including donation link at ‘Support Mal’s Movember Campaign!’

Junior World team’s pursuit champion Jack Cummings (Jayco VIS) took the A Grade win in a bunch sprint after spending most of the first half of the race in a three man breakaway, together with team mate Sean Finning and Liam Dove, before the bunch closed down the move thanks to some big turns from Dean Johnstone and the O’Mara Cycles boys. A late break looked like it might spoil the VIS party, but it all came back together round the final corner for Cummings to take the win ahead of Brenton Jones (Torq), Dan Moore (o2 Racing), Cal Watson (Jayco VIS), Dove and Clement Boydell (Performance Racing).

Matt Jensen (Jones Cycles), Tom Quirk (O’Mara), Richard Cormick (Burnley Finance) and the newly promoted Andrew Kujath joined forces in the early B Grade break, with Kujath often off the front throughout the rest of the race. Much like the A Grade race, a late break by Dan Pickering (Artisan Cycles), Rick Jones (Burnley) and Nick Anagnostakos looked promising but was shut down on the final lap. Andrew Mapstone (Salter Cycles) took the bunch kick ahead of Craig Mitchell (TFM), Jordan Stannus (Jones Cycles), Lachlan Davidson and Mitchell Barry (Quick Cycle), with Nic Whitburn (Fyxo) too strong for Miranda Griffiths (XOSize) and Sarah Riley (TDT RACE).

Shaun Grogan (DSG Racing) romped home in the C Grade bunch sprint, showing great versatility after an impressive third place at the mountainous Stratford to Dargo on the weekend. Kurt Santagada, Nick Kennedy and Drew Morey followed him home, with Sonia Throssell (Velocino) scoring the women’s win ahead of track star Courtney Field.

Careful study of the photo finish was needed to separate Chris McKay (Total Rush) and Stephen North at the end of the D Grade race, with McKay taking the win by a tyre’s width. A length behind Rob Storey wasn’t much further ahead of Gabriel Digenis: thankfully the women’s division was a little more straight forward with Jess Wigan too strong for Amber Saunders (Burnley) and Anna Collins (O’Mara).

Please note there is no racing at Sandown on November 15 due to a major car race.

Race Results

A Grade 60 mins 49 starters

1 Jack Cummings CCCC

2 Brenton Jones Warragul

3 Dan Moore St Kilda

4 Calvin Watson CCCC

5 Liam Dove Blackburn

6 Clement Boydell CCCC

B Grade 60 mins 55 starters

1 Andrew Mapstone CCCC

2 Craig Mitchell Hawthorn

3 Jordan Stannus CCCC

4 Lachlan Davidson CCCC

5 Mitchell Barry Blackburn

1 Nicole Whitburn CCCC

2 Miranda Griffiths St Kilda

3 Sarah Riley CCCC

C Grade 50 mins 53 starters

1 Shaun Grogan CCCC

2 Kurt Santagada Blackburn

3 Nick Kennedy CCCC

4 Drew Morey CCCC

1 Sonia Throssell CCCC

2 Courtney Field CCCC

D Grade 45 mins 41 starters

1 Chris McKay St Kilda

2 Stephen North Blackburn

3 Rob Storey St Kilda

4 Gabriel Digenis CCCC


1 Jess Wigan CCCC

2 Amber Saunders CCCC

3 Anna Collins CCCC

E Grade 30 mins 8 starters

1 Alana Field CCCC

2 Jack Throssell CCCC

3 Mietta Greig-Hurtig CCCC

4 Georgia Cummings CCCC

5 Emma Chilton CCCC

6 Krista Imberger CCCC

7 Shanelle Freeman CCCC

8 Michael McRitchie Hawthorn

Editors' Picks