CCCC Glenvale Criteriums – 11 Dec 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Continuing the recent theme, heavy overnight rain stopped just in time to allow racing to run as planned at Glenvale Crescent this morning, although the cool temperatures and damp roads kept more than a few riders warm and dry under their doonas! The circuit was still a little damp for the eager Novice Clinic riders, but under the expert tutelage of Mick Hollingworth all dealt with the conditions well, and were rewarded for their optimism with dry roads for their final high speed laps.

Attacking racing was the order of the day, with young Ballarat riders snatching the top prizes in all but the A Grade race.

Nick White was in pretty much every move in D Grade, joining local junior stars Tom Benton, Liam Pino and Trey Freeman in breaks at different stages of the 45 minute race. As is often the case, the attacks petered out in the final 10 minutes and the inevitable bunch sprint ensued, but White showed great leg speed to hit the line two lengths clear of Zach Alexakos and Mark Zervaas, with Freeman rounding out the podium. Track sprinter Jess Laws made a rare appearance away from the boards and took the women’s win ahead of Anna Collins (O’Mara) and Hannah MacDougall (Charter Mason).

The most dangerous break in C Grade saw Ross Jones (Jones Cycles), Drew Morey, Matt Bennett (Cycling-Inform) and British visitor Elliot Katz (London Dynamo) hold off the bunch for a few laps. Once they were chased down, youngsters George Hamilton and Ned Efe forced the pace, with Brenton Jukes and Matt Griffin also keen to get away.

The bunch was back together at three to go, and another bunch sprint was on the cards until Angus Lyons caught the sprinters napping just before the start of the final lap. Junior gears weren’t too much of a handicap for the smooth pedalling junior, and he was able to hold on for the win just ahead of the bunch. The battle for second was very tight, with Mark Doran and Bennett storming home strongly on the left side of the straight inches ahead of Tom Russell, Rhys Buzza, Thomas Verleys-Donk (Bikes de Ver) and Taj Chopra (TFM) across on the right hand side of the road. Madeleine Cardillo (Kelly Cycle Coaching) took the women’s sprint ahead of Emma Lyall (KAOS).

The B Grade race saw just about every rider in the field try his or her hand in a break at some point, with a non-stop series of breaks and counter moves setting the tone for the fast paced hour of racing. The Charter Mason/Kelly Cycle Coaching boys were in everything, while the Burnley Finance Masters team – although much smaller in numbers – did their best to go one better. The team riding was all done positively, without the ugly blocking tactics that sometimes creep into domestic racing, so riders without much in the way of team mates like Steve Camilleri, Jack Cummings (Avanti Plus), Jordan Stannus (Jones Cycles) and Matt Ross (CCCC Elite) were also able to get among the attacks.

Despite the aggressive racing, the race was decided with a bunch sprint, which allowed the Kelly Gang to set up a great lead out for Liam White. Cam Rotter (Burnley) saw the danger and found White’s wheel, but couldn’t hold onto the train through the final acceleration, leaving White to take a clear win. Marc Wilson (Avanti Plus) came closest to White after a fluffed gear change cost him ground, and took second ahead of Stannus, Ross and Scott Walkerden (Kelly) Capping off the good outing for the Kelly Gang was coach Helen, who took out the women’s win.

The smaller than usual A Grade bunch also gave everyone a chance to attack, and after the opening 15 minute smack down which saw Leigh De Luca (Sram), Matt Shea (Velocino), Nick Aitken (Jayco AIS) and Trent Morey (Charter Mason) up the road, the main break of the day went clear containing Sean Finning (Jayco VIS), Warren Knevitt (O’Mara), James Henry (Chilli Cycles), Adrian Jackson (Merida) and Jason Spencer (Budget Forklifts). There was no let up from the chasers hoowever, and when Jackson couldn’t hold the pace out front any longer the break was doomed.

The counter attack that went as soon as the remaining quartet were re-absorbed proved decisive. Initially Melbourne to Warrnambool winner Joel Pearson (Genesys Wealth Systems) joined a group of six, but the frantic attempts to get on terms saw groups of two and three claw their way across to the front group over the next two laps until the bunch had effectively split in half, rapidly ending the hopes of anyone in the back bunch. The VIS team had placed Finning, Michael Gallagher and Eric Sheppard on the right side of the split, and Sheppard hit out with a little over two laps to go to time trial his way to the finish.

Sheppard took the win 10 seconds clear, with the lead group predictably led home by Pearson from Henry, Aitken, Dale Woonton (Thrones) and Jackson.

CCCC crits continue on Tuesday night at Sandown racecourse. Entry to the circuit is via the Princes Highway overpass from 5.30pm, with racing starting at 6.30pm for all grades. Full details at

Race Results

A Grade 60 mins + 3 laps 35 starters

1 Eric Sheppard CCCC

2 Joel Pearson Warragul

3 James Henry Warragul

4 Nick Aitken Leongatha

5 Dale Woonton CCCC

6 Adrian Jackson Dirt Riders

B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps 29 starters

1 Liam White Ballarat

2 Marc Wilson Blackburn

3 Jordan Stannus CCCC

4 Matt Ross CCCC

5 Scott Walkerden CCCC

C Grade 50 mins + 3 laps 32 starters

1 Angus Lyons Ballarat

2 Mark Doran CCCC

3 Matt Bennett CCCC

4 Tom Russell St Kilda

Women 1
1 Madeleine Cardillo Brunswick

2 Emma Lyall CCCC

D Grade 45 mins + 3 laps 29 starters

1 Nick White Ballarat

2 Zach Alexakos CCCC

3 Mark Zervaas CCCC

4 Trey Freeman CCCC

1 Jessica Laws Lavington

2 Anna Collins CCCC

3 Hannah MacDougall CCCC

E Grade 30 mins 15 starters

1 Georgia Cummings CCCC

2 Marcus Heron CCCC

3 Bill Simpson CCCC

4 Krista Imberger CCCC

5 Luke Forbes CCCC

6 Bryce Marquadt CCCC

7 Frank Hutton CCCC

8 Angus Mennen CCCC

9 Jason Zheng CCCC

10 Alister Stuart CCCC

11 Carol Cooke CCCC

12 Shanelle Freeman CCCC

13 Bradley Puts CCCC

14 Sam Bascombe CCCC

15 Grace Mennen CCCC

Editors' Picks