CCCC Sandown Twilight Crits – 6 Dec 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

A tough and tricky wind saw most bunches split, with D Grade providing the only full bunch sprint of the night, albeit with a significantly smaller bunch contesting the finish than that which hard started.

A Grade was decided by a break of eight strong riders that went clear in the second half of the race as the chasing bunch fractured into three distinct groups, with the Jayco VIS and O?Mara teams missing the vital split after being in all the early moves. In the move were Andrew Stalder, riding for the first time in the Promains colours, Nick Walker (Fly V), Brenton Jones (Torq), Adrian Jackson (Merida), Murray Spink (Giant), Danny Kah (Cycling-Inform), Jason Spencer (Budget Forklifts) and Brent Nelson (Croydon Cycleworks). Jones proved to be strongest in the sprint, and took the win a length clear of Walker and Stalder, with Nelson, Spencer and Jackson rounding out the podium.

Mid race breaks in B Grade included hardmen like Ken Ford and Neville Martin, Andrew Heraud (O?Mara) and Andrew Kujath, but with a lap to go, the field was compact and a bunch sprint looked likely. Jordan Stannus (Jones Cycles), another rider who had been active early, had other ideas and jumped away from the bunch before the final chicane and powered home to take the win well clear ? however he caught his photographer father out of position in the process! Fergus Sully (Bike Gallery) chase Stannus home in second place, leaving the bunch to sprint for third. Kujath held out Marc Wilson (Avanti Plus) by the narrowest of margins, with Jamie Riedy (Fetha) claiming the final prize. Fresh from a great third place at the Tour of Bright, Miranda Griffiths (XOSize) had little trouble taking out the women?s win.

A break of four dominated C Grade, and finished almost a minute clear of the huge chasing pack. Bade Stapleton impressed with his first outing at Sandown, and capped off a strong ride with a convincing win, and showed himself plenty ready for B Grade in future. Michael Jones was next home ahead of Under 17 workhorse Drew Morey and Simon Carey. The women?s race was fought out in the second chase group, with Alex Watson taking the win ahead of Jess Wiggan.

Capping off a successful night for the Sully clan was Dougal, who powered home to win the D Grade bunch sprint ahead of Brendan Cleary (O?Mara), James Tickner and first-timer Christian Kayler. Sophie Weston led the women?s field home ahead of Christy Harris and Mel Hunter.

CCCC Crits continue at Glenvale Crescent on Sunday morning. The Novice Clinic coached by Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingworth kicks off the morning at 8.30am, followed by B and D Grades at 9am. the A and C Grade bunches close the program, starting at 10.15am.

Thanks to David Stannus and Michael Eaddy for tonight?s photos. Mike?s full gallery can be seen here.

Race Results

A Grade 60 mins 50 starters

1 Brenton Jones Warragul

2 Nick Walker CCCC

3 Andrew Stalder CCCC

4 Brent Nelson Blackburn

5 Jason Spencer Blackburn

6 Adrian Jackson Dirt Riders

B Grade 60 mins 54 starters

1 Jordan Stannus CCCC

2 Fergus Sully Blackburn

3 Andrew Kujath CCCC

4 Marc Wilson Blackburn

5 Jamie Riedy St Kilda

1 Miranda Griffiths St Kilda

C Grade 50 mins 68 starters

1 Bade Stapleton St Kilda

2 Michael Jones Great Britain

3 Drew Morey CCCC

4 Simon Carey Melbourne Adventure

1 Alex Weston CCCC

2 Jess Wiggan CCCC

D Grade 45 mins 59 starters

1 Dougal Sully Blackburn

2 Brendan Cleary CCCC

3 James Tickner CCCC

4 Christian Kayler CCCC

1 Sophie Weston CCCC

2 Christy Harris CCCC

3 Mel Hunter CCCC

E Grade 30 mins 8 starters

1 Mietta Greig-Hurtig CCCC

2 Georgia Cummings CCCC

3 Krista Imberger CCCC

4 Jack Throssell CCCC

5 Emma Chilton CCCC

6 Josh Kah CCCC

7 Thomas Jones CCCC

Editors' Picks