Footscray CC Graded Criteriums @ V.U.T – 22 Dec 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Footscray Cycling Club

The Footscray Cycling Club’s criterium racing at the VUT in Hopper’s Crossing on Thursday night raced for the O’Brien Sash and Medallions, with A-Grade’s race being taken by Jason Costin with a daring late race breakaway. ‘With 5 minutes to go the bunch eased right up after Paul Anders attacked, and I felt good, so when he was brought back and the bunch eased up I thought it was a good time to go. I buried myself and just kept going and held on for the win’. B-Grade’s race was dominated by a strong Murray Crawford, who broke away so often that he eventually just rode away from the bunch and took the win clear of the chasing pack. C-Grade’s race saw Nick Kennedy eventually lap the field and take a commanding win; D-Grade’s race saw newcomer Darren Terry break away and take a sizeable lead at the end to win by 400 meters from race patron Dal O’Brien and E-Grade’s Rob Wood took out the sprint from Paul Portelli.

A-Grade: 1st Jason Costin, 2nd Dom Dudkiewicz, 3rd Dean Sanfilipo, 4th Shaun Gatter & 5th John Murazak.

B-Grade: 1st Murray Crawford, 2nd Paul Sheean, 3rd Rob Stocker, 4th Ben Costin & 5th Antonio Marino.

C-Grade: 1st Nicholas Kennedy, 2nd Tony Murrell, 3rd Darren Payne, 4th Ross Schubach, 5th Eddie O’Farrell.

D-Grade: 1st Darren Terry, 2nd Dal O’Brien, 3rd Barry Cram & 4th James Chong.

E-Grade: 1st Rob Wood, 2nd Paul Portelli.