Footscray CC Graded Criteriums @ V.U.T – 24 Dec 2011

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

By Footscray Cycling Club

Saturday morning’s racers were greeted by clear blue skies and light winds, and in A-Grade’s race it was another daring late race move that paid off. With a hectic pace that saw many riders shelved, James Butler, Brett Hickford and Chris Zucchet broke away late in the race and built up a good lead; on the last lap Zucchet’s pace first saw Butler and then Hickford slow, with the sizzling Zucchet crossing clear of Hickford, who in turn was clear of Butler. B-Grade’s race pace was high, averaging 41kph, and the attacks regular, but it still came down to a bunch sprint, with Iain Clark and Mark Micallef side by side all the way up the straight; Clark taking the win by a half-wheel. C-Grade saw the ever-improving Darren Payne take the win, with D-Grade rider Rod Stonehouse taking a strong win in a bunch sprint, and Paul Portelli on his way up to D after taking E-Grade’s sprint.

A: 1st Chris Zucchet, 2nd Brett Hickford, 3rd James Butler, 4th Paul Anders & 5th Nick Squillari.

B: 1st Iain Clark, 2nd Mark Micallef, 3rd Peter Humphries, 4th Anthony Molinia & 5th Matt Wyatt.

C: 1st Darren Payne, 2nd Travis Small, 3rd Stephen Liley, 4th Ross Schubach & 5th Chris Mitrovski.

D: 1st Rod Stonehouse, 2nd Michael Hines, 3rd Tom Gray & 4th John Ryan.

E: 1st Paul Portelli, 2nd Anthony Elliot