The 2013 Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah came to a close yesterday in its third year as a UCI classified event. Showcasing some of the world’s most prestigious teams for six days in August, the race crosses the state, from Utah’s lush forests and red rock spires in the south to the urban corridor and beautiful peaks along Wasatch Range of the Rocky Mountains in the north. It’s best known for its mountain biking, but as you can see, the area is prime for roadies as well.

The race started off with a bang when BMC’s Greg Van Avermaet won the first stage in a similar manner to his teammate Taylor Phinney’s breakaway win at stage 4 of the Tour of Poland. But Van Avermaet was unable to hold onto the leader’s jersey even though he was right behind Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEDGE) stage 2 win in a bunch sprint.

But Lachlan Morton, the 21-year-old from Sydney, threw the race upside down with his impressive 40km solo breakaway to win over Mt. Nebo on stage 3 which put him in the leaders jersey with van Avermaet holding his second place. Van Avermaet was nothing if not consistent coming in second place again in a bunch kick behind Matthews in stage 4 — Morton still hanging onto the lead.

In the mean time Chris Horner (Radioshack-Leopard) had been sitting back quietly in seventh position. This was his first race back since a knee injury took him out in March during the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya. However, he had no trouble training his way back into form and took stage 5 as an opportunity to pounce.

Horner won the Queen stage (5) on the slopes of the Snowbird Ski Area ahead of Tom Danielson (Garmin-Sharp) and took over the race lead from Lachlan Morton. Morton finished more than three minutes down, losing yellow but hanging onto the jersey for best young rider. Morton said he realised early on he might not have the legs to keep with the front group and gave Danielson the go-ahead to ride for himself.

On stage 6, the final stage, it was Francisco Mancebo (5-hour Energy/Kenda) who took the win in Park City after spending most of the day in a breakaway of 15 riders. Mancebo beat Berman’s Acevedo in man-on-man sprint, followed by Tom Danielson, who dropped yellow jersey holder Chris Horner on the final climb up Empire Pass to take the general classification win.

Top 10 Overall Results

1 DANIELSON Thomas Garmin – Sharp 23:05:45
2 HORNER Chris RadioShack – Leopard 1:29
3 ACEVEDO COLLE Janier Alexis Jamis – Hagens Berman 1:37
4 EUSER Lucas UnitedHealthcare Presented by Maxxis 2:02
5 BUSCHE Matthew RadioShack – Leopard 2:06
6 DEIGNAN Philip UnitedHealthcare Presented by Maxxis 2:27
7 SCHAR Michael BMC Racing Team 3:11
8 JONES Carter Bissell Pro Cycling 3:49
9 MANCEBO PEREZ Francisco 5-hour Energy 3:50
10 MACHADO Tiago RadioShack – Leopard ,,

full results