Caleb Ewan signs “pre-contract” with Orica-GreenEDGE

ORICA-GreenEDGE has announced the signing of Caleb Ewan. Widely regarded as the biggest talent in the U23 ranks, Ewan will step up to the WorldTour via Jayco-AIS in October 2014. Prior to the start of his neo-pro contract, Ewan is on pre-contract with the Australian outfit. The team has secured his services as a stagiaire beginning next August.

“I decided I wanted to stay in the U23 team for part of next year and ease into the transition a bit more,” said Ewan. “If I went pro next year, it could be too early in terms of development. GreenEDGE has given me a clear path that outlines several smaller steps rather than one big one. When I do turn pro, I’ll be ready.”

Read full press release here.

Steele von Hoff wins Japan Cup criterium

Steele von Hoff took his first win of the season on Saturday at the Japan Cup criterium.

The 25-year old Australian Garmin-Sharp won the sprint of the Austrian Bernhard Eisel (Sky Procycling) and Matteo Trentin (Omega Pharma-Quickstep). The criterium is traditionally driven the day before the UCI 1.HC rated Japan Cup road race which was won by Ivan Basso in 2012.

Von Hoff took the win in this same race in 2011 when he was still with the Australian domestic squad Genesys Wealth Advisers.


1 Steel von Hoff (Australia, Garmin-Sharp)
2 Bernhard Eisel (Austria, Sky Pro Cycling)
3 Matteo Trentin (Italy, Omega Pharma-Quick Step)

Mick Rogers finishes season on a high at Japan Cup

The experienced Australian was able to hold off a strong group of chasers on the Utsonomiya course to secure an impressive solo victory.
Jack Bauer (Garmin-Sharp) and Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Merida) rounded out the podium and led in a group of five riders.

The race split to pieces on the penultimate lap as Josh Edmondson of Team Sky went clear alongside Rogers (Team Saxo-Tinkoff). On the final climb of Kogashi Road Rogers attacked through the forest, opening out a slender gap over a strong chase group behind.

David Lopez joined team-mates Joe Dombrowski and Edmondson in the chase – the Spaniard going on to claim fifth with the team’s neo-pros claiming seventh and 10th respectively.


1 Michael Rogers (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff 4:25:00
2 Jack Bauer (NZl) Garmin-Sharp 0:00:44
3 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Merida
4 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Team Nippo-De Rosa
5 David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Sky Procycling 0:00:50
6 Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Merida 0:00:58
7 Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (USA) Sky Procycling
8 Carlos Verona Quintanilla (Spa) Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team
9 Taiji Nishitani (Jpn) Aisan Racing Team 0:01:05
10 Joshua Edmondson (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:01:33

See full results here

van der Haar takes first round of the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup

Lars van der Haar has added the Cauberg Cross to his name in the first CX battle for the World Cup this season.

The 22-year-old Dutchman soloed to victory in Valkenburg. The Belgian Kevin Pauwels nabbed second place,while Germany’s Philipp Walsleben came in third. World champion Sven Nys abandoned the race.

“I have dreamed of of winning here,” said Van der Haar after his win in Valkenburg.”This is great. This victory comes in my list next to my world titles in the promises.”

Van der Haar rode along with Pauwels for much of the race, but fell away with equipment failure. ” I could not wait for him. I had to continue racing. For a long time I did not dare to believe that I was going to win.”

“Last year I finished second in the first World Cup and now I win.”

Lars van der Haar (Holland / Rabobank Development Team) pictured on his way to win the world cup cyclocross Valkenburg.

Lars van der Haar (Holland / Rabobank Development Team) pictured on his way to win the world cup cyclocross Valkenburg.

Click here to see the full video of the men’s and women’s races from yesterday in Valkenburg.

Elite Men Results

1 Lars van der Haar (NED) Rabobank Development 1hr 02min 45sec
2 Kevin Pauwels (BEL) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 0:00:20
3 Philipp Walsleben (GER) BKCP/Powerplus 0:00:39
4 Klaas Vantornout (BEL) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 0:00:48
5 Bart Aernouts (BEL) AA Drink 0:01:00
6 Tom Meeusen (BEL) Telenet-Fidea 0:01:09
7 Thijs Van Amerongen (NED) AA Drink 0:01:20
8 Enrico Franzoi (ITA) Selle Italia Guerciotti 0:01:31
9 Bart Wellens (BEL) Telenet-Fidea 0:01:39
10 Corne Van Kessel (NED) Telenet-Fidea 0:01:53

Vos takes first round of the Women’s UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup

Earlier in the day, Marianne Vos was the strongest among women. The American Katherine Compton finished second, just before the British Nikki Harris for third. Vos’ win comes off the back of after her Road World Championship win last month in Florence.

“It looked might be easy, but the trail was very heavy. It was hard to gain time. I’m glad I’m still here after the World Cup on the road as in good shape,” Vos said after her victory.

Marianne Vos (Team Rabobank Liv Giant) pictured winning the world cup cyclocross Valkenburg.

Marianne Vos (Team Rabobank Liv Giant) pictured winning the world cup cyclocross Valkenburg.

Click here to see the full video of the men’s and women’s races from yesterday in Valkenburg.

Elite Women Results

1 Marianne Vos (NED) Rabo Women 37min 56sec
2 Katherine Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross 0:01:35
3 Nikki Harris (GBR) Young Telenet-Fidea 0:01:52
4 Helen Wyman (GBR) Kona 0:02:04
5 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (FRA) Faren Kuota 0:02:11
6 Pavla Havlikova (CZE) Young Telenet-Fidea 0:02:20
7 Ellen Van Loy (BEL) DNCS-Pro 2012 0:02:29
8 Sanne Cant (BEL) Enertherm-BKCP 0:02:53
9 Annefleur Kalvenhaar (NED) Giant Dealerteams 0:03:05
10 Caroline Mani (FRA) Raleigh-Clement 0:03:30

Rui Costa given hero’s reception

Rui Costa was given a amazing reception in “Aeroporto Sá Carneiro” in Portugal after winning the World Championships last month. The fans sang the “Portuguese Anthem”; “Heartbreaking” upon Costa’s entrance.

Taxco Urban Downhill

It doesn’t matter what genre of cyclist you are, you’ll always be blown away by these Urban Downhill races. This one is not new, but we just discovered it and it’s one of the best ones yet.

This is from Taxco, Mexico and it features Brendan Fairclough during a practice run last November. Hang on to your seat and check it out!

Biggest backflip in history

And if that didn’t impress you, have a look at this. Cam Zink just made history on the Oakley Icon Sender at Red Bull Rampage completing the biggest freeride mountain bike step-down backflip in history getting him 3rd place in the competition.