Gerrans, de Kort, Hayman, Cantwell and Ewan to race St Kilda SuperCrit

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

One of Australia’s richest one-day cycling events is returning in 2013 with cycling’s biggest stars on Sunday, December 15. The Logie-Smith Lanyon Super Criterium will see the some of the best national and international professional cyclists compete for $20,000 in prize money.

Orica-GreenEDGE rider and cycling legend Simon Gerrans is a confirmed starter, as are other pro riders Koen de Kort (Argos-Shimano), Matthew Hayman (Sky ProCycling) Jonathan Cantwell (Saxo-Tinkoff), and young gun Caleb Ewan (Jayco-AIS).

“The race format is fast, exciting and tough. The action will be non-stop and brilliant for spectators because it is on short circuit in the heart of Melbourne” said Simon Gerrans. “It is also a great opportunity test my legs in the lead up to the Jayco Herald Sun Tour, Nationals and the Santos Tour Down Under”.

An Elite Women’s race and several other support races will support the Men’s Professional race. Live commentary by Tour de France commentator Matthew Keenan and Olympic Gold Medallist Scott McGrory from The Bike Lane will make for an electric atmosphere.

“Last year’s race was brilliant. By the end of it Greg Henderson was on his hands and knees, having tried to breakaway, and then not even Simon Gerrans could hold the bunch off. It was a world class crit.” said Kennan.

“Seeing riders we’re accustomed to seeing on the world stage race on a club criterium circuit, that any local cyclist can race on any weekend, is pretty special.”

Organised by St Kilda Cycling Club the carnival event will be family friendly and a free spectator event. There will be plenty of food and beverage outlets one of which will feature 2013 My Kitchen Rules Finalists Smiley Sam and Chris as well as a DJ and kids face painting.

The Logie-Smith Lanyon Super Criterium will feature all-out sprinting with ten sprints worth $750 cash during the 75-minute-race. The winner will take home $3,000.

The first three place-getters in the women’s race will receive the same money as the first three men and the total prize pool for the women’s race will be $8,500.

Click here to read about last year’s super-crit. Text adapted from a St. Kilda Cycling Club press release.