World championships: Froome, Wiggins, Armitstead and Garner in Great Britain lineup

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

Vuelta a España champion Alberto Contador (Tinkoff Saxo) has already said he won’t take part in the world road race championships due to his belief that the course doesn’t suit him, but the runner-up in that race, Chris Froome, won’t follow suit. He has been confirmed today as taking part in the race.

The 2013 Tour de France winner is amongst those announced as riding the event on September 27 while Bradley Wiggins, who won the Tour the previously year, has been confirmed for the time trial. He will be joined by Commonwealth Games gold medallist Alex Dowsett, who showed his good form by leading last week’s Tour of Britain.

Also in the British lineup is the Scot David Millar, will make his championship swansong in the road race. He will compete in Ponferrada prior to hanging up his wheels.

Olympic road race runner-up Lizzie Armitstead and double junior world champion Lucy Garner will be part of the selection for the women’s road race.

British Cycling’s Technical Director Shane Sutton said that he believed the selection was a promising one which could reap success in several events. “I’m pleased with the teams we’ve selected for the UCI Road World Championships. Across the board, we have some real podium contenders.

“Sir Brad [Wiggins] showed great form at the Tour of Britain this year, winning the time trial stage, and of course Alex [Dowsett] did a fantastic ride to win the time trial at the Commonwealth Games so it will be interesting to see how they get on.

“Fellow Commonwealth Games champion Lizzie Armitstead has a great team around her including two mountain bikers who should be able to support her on the reasonably hilly course.

“For the men’s road race, Chris [Froome] proved he’s in good shape by coming second at the Vuelta and I’m pleased David Millar will be leading the team in his last outing in Great Britain kit.”

Apart from Froome and Millar, the elite road race team will include Steve Cummings, Pete Kennaugh, Luke Rowe, Ben Swift, Geraint Thomas and the Yates brothers Adam and Simon.

Armitstead and Garner will lead the women’s team and will be backed by Alice Barnes, Hannah Barnes, Anna Christian and Annie Last.

The U23 road race will see Scott Davies, Owain Doull, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Dan McLay and Alex Peters represent the team, with Davies and Jon Dibben doing the time trial.

“In the younger ranks, we’ve had some impressive results from the under-23 riders this season, notably Tao Geoghagen Hart and Dan McLay,” said Sutton. “We have some great opportunities at this year’s Road World Championships, and I wish the team the best of luck out there.”

Additional squads:

Junior Men’s Road Race:

Gabriel Cullaigh
Nathan Draper
Matt Gibson
James Shaw
Steve Williams

Junior Men’s Time Trial:

Matt Gibson

Junior Women’s Road Race:

Megan Barker
Grace Garner
Beth Hayward
Mel Lowther

Junior Women’s Time Trial:

Grace Garner
Mel Lowther

Editors' Picks