Courses for the 2015 Australian Road Nationals

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

In 2015, the Australian Road Nationals begin with the criteriums on the Wednesday night, followed by the time trials on the Thursday and the road races on Saturday and Sunday. Here’s Cycling Australia’s Matt Keenan with a description of all three courses.


Held in the heart of Ballarat, it’s a hotdog course up and down Sturt St. It’s a long, slightly uphill drag along the finishing straight and a fast descent to the bottom corner on the back straight. It creates an open race. Cameron Meyer has won solo but a bunch sprint is a more likely outcome.

Individual time trial

It’s a new course for the individual time trial, starting and finishing in Buninyong. There’s only one notable climb yet there’s hardly a flat stretch of road on this out-and-back course. And it’s sure to be windy as the turnaround point for the elite men is in the shadows of a wind farm.

Road race

The circuit around Mt Buninyong has been criticised by many as being too selective but Robbie McEwen has won on this course and Michael Matthews and Matt Goss have both had second-place finishes. It is a brutal course of either climbing and descending but it’s a great course for spectators.

The schedule is as follows:

Editors' Picks