Movistar team’s 2015 line-up completed, Ventoso final rider to be announced

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

On a day when the Cannondale-Garmin team announced its 2015 line-up, another WorldTour team has confirmed its full roster for next season. The Movistar squad of 2014 Giro d’Italia champion Nairo Quintana has confirmed it will number 28 riders next year, amongst them four new additions.

These are Marc Soler (from the elite 2 team Lizarte), Rubén Fernández (Caja Rural-RGA), Winner Anacona (Lampre) and Tinkoff Saxo’s Rory Sutherland.

The team confirmed on Friday that one of those who was with the setup for the past four years, Fran Ventoso, will be offered another contract for 2015. He is the final rider confirmed for next season.

“It’s been really rewarding for me to see my work appreciated after such a season focused on the squad and my team-mates,” said Ventoso, who was second on a stage of the Tour de San Luis and in the Trofeo Platja de Muro, and placed third in the GP Nobili. “[I’d] less individual results, yet the same effort.

“I’m really happy with what I did and extremely thankful about this renewal.”

Ventoso’s work for the team saw him back Quintana in the Giro d’Italia and also lead out Juanjo Lobato in sprints.

He is a former winner of the Spanish national championships and also amassed two stages in the Giro d’Italia and one in the Vuelta a España during his career. Ventoso has been with the team since 2011.

The full team roster for 2015 includes Quintana, Alejandro Valverde, Ventoso and 25 others.

Movistar team roster for 2015:

Andrey Amador (CRC, 28), Winner Anacona (COL, 26), Igor Antón (ESP, 31), Eros Capecchi (ITA, 28), Jonathan Castroviejo (ESP, 27), Alex Dowsett (GBR, 26), Imanol Erviti (ESP, 31), Rubén Fernández (ESP, 23), John Gadret (FRA, 35), Jesús Herrada (ESP, 24), José Herrada (ESP, 29), Beñat Intxausti (ESP, 28), Gorka Izagirre (ESP, 27), Ion Izagirre (ESP, 25), Pablo Lastras (ESP, 38), Juanjo Lobato (ESP, 25), Adriano Malori (ITA, 26), Javi Moreno (ESP, 30), Dayer Quintana (COL, 22), Nairo Quintana (COL, 24), José Joaquín Rojas (ESP, 29), Enrique Sanz (ESP, 25), Marc Soler (ESP, 21), Rory Sutherland (AUS, 32), Jasha Sütterlin (GER, 22), Alejandro Valverde (ESP, 34), Fran Ventoso (ESP, 32), Giovanni Visconti (ITA, 31).

Editors' Picks