Photo gallery: Highlights from the 2015 Jayco Herald Sun Tour

by Matt de Neef

The Jayco Herald Sun Tour is Australia’s oldest stage race and the 62nd edition finished atop Victoria’s Arthurs Seat yesterday afternoon. After five days of racing Cameron Meyer was crowned the overall winner, with his Orica-GreenEdge team having won three of the five stages. Here is a selection of photos from the race, courtesy of Con Chronis.

The 2015 Jayco Herald Sun Tour began with a prologue individual time trial in the heart of Melbourne on Wednesday evening. Will Clarke (Drapac) went two places better than the third place he took in last year’s race, winning the 2.1km stage with a time of 2:35.53 (48.8km/h average).

Clarke took the leader’s yellow jersey into stage 1 but effectively lost it in the first 20km of the stage. A group of 21 riders broke clear on the slopes of Mt. Macedon and would go on to finish more than 25 minutes ahead of the peloton.

Cameron Meyer and New Zealand national champion Joe Cooper (Avanti) broke off the front of the lead group in the closing stages to contest the win. Meyer did most of the work in the final 10km but still had enough to beat Cooper in a sprint and, ultimately, set up his overall victory.

With Cameron Meyer in yellow, Orica-GreenEdge’s chances of a title defence — after Simon Clarke’s win last year — were looking good. Their race got even better on stage 2 when Caleb Ewan took a comfortable sprint victory into Nagambie for his first UCI-classified victory in Orica-GreenEdge colours. Meyer finished in the bunch to hold yellow.

The run-in to the finish in Nagambie was exactly the same on stage 3 as it was on stage 2 and so to was the result. Caleb Ewan came from a bit further back than he had 24 hours earlier, but he timed his run perfectly to take back-to-back stage wins. Cameron Meyer avoided the day’s many crashes and finished in the bunch for another day in yellow.

And on the final day of the race, the Queen stage to Arthurs Seat, it was Patrick Bevin (Avanti) that prevailed after three laps of the 3km climb. Meyer finished second on the stage though, securing his overall victory.

In doing so Meyer became just the third rider to have won both the Jayco Herald Sun Tour and the Tour Down Under, alongside Stuart O’Grady and Simon Gerrans.

Here is a selection of photos from the five days of racing.

Editors' Picks