Katrin Garfoot takes decisive victory in time trial at Australian Road Championships

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

BUNINYONG, Australia (CT) – Katrin Garfoot (Orica-AIS) took a decisive victory in the time trial at the Mars Cycling Australia Road National Championships with a 46.1 second margin over her nearest rival, four-time winner Shara Gillow (Rabobank-Liv).

At the halfway point in the undulating 29.3 kilometre out-and-back course Garfoot had already stamped her authority on the race against the clock with a lead of 42 seconds on Gillow. As the crowd at the start finish line heard the time split there was little doubt that she would be tough to beat, but out there on the course Garfoot was in the dark.

“At the U-turn I wasn’t too sure where I was standing because the radio didn’t work that well, so I thought I was five down. That’s what I heard so I had to really focus on pushing up those climbs,” said Garfoot. “I tried to push really hard those last four kilometres and it was really hard but it worked out in the end.”

It wasn’t until Garfoot, the fourth last rider to start, went over the line that she heard what a good position she was in.

“It was a cocktail of being stuffed and being happy but I had to wait for the other girls to come in so it’s always a waiting game and I was just hoping, wishing that it’s not fourth again,” said Garfoot.

Garfoot took the title with a time of 43:16.37 while Gillow clocked in at 44:02.49 and Tiffany Cromwell (CANYON/SRAM) put her new team colours on the podium in their first race outing with a time of 44:54.10.

Emily Roper grabbed the win in the under 23 category, taking ninth place overall with a time of 46:45.57, ahead of Ellen Skerritt (Ale Cipollini) and Jenelle Crooks (Specialized Women’s Racing), who were both just a few seconds behind.

The time trial was the second women’s race in the Australian Road Championships, following the criterium on Wednesday. The championships culminates with the road race on Sunday.


1. 12 Katrin GARFOOT (QLD) 43:16.37
2. 3 Shara GILLOW (QLD) 44:02.49 +46.1
3. 10 Tiffany CROMWELL (SA) 44:54.10 +1:37.7
4. 16 Kate PERRY (VIC) 45:37.54 +2:21.1
5. 11 Gracie ELVIN (ACT) 45:41.59 +2:25.2
6. 28 Rebecca MACKEY (WA) 46:25.64 +3:09.2
7. 23 Lucy KENNEDY (QLD) 46:37.72 +3:21.3
8. 14 Bridie O’DONNELL (VIC) 46:42.22 +3:25.8
9. 108 Emily ROPER (QLD) W23 46:45.57 +3:29.2
10. 102 Ellen SKERRITT (QLD) W23 46:49.42 +3:33.0

For a link to Cycling Australia’s page with full results click here.

Editors' Picks