Login to VeloClub|Not a member?  Sign up now.

Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

February 29, 2016

In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Greg Van Avermaet wins men’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad; Lizzie Armitstead wins women’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, her first race as world champion; Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne victory for Jasper Stuyven; Marta Bastianelli takes out the Omloop van het Hageland; Sonny Colbrelli victorious at the GP Citta di Lugano; Miguel Angel Lopez leads the Tour de Langkawi, Guardini with two stage wins; Evie Stevens sets new women’s UCI Hour Record; UCI carried out 139 bike checks for mechanical doping at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad; Tiesj Benoot’s power data from Omloop Het Nieuwsblad; Stig Broeckx hospitalised after being taken out by moto in Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne; In the kitchen with Team Sky.

Greg Van Avermaet wins men’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

by Matt de Neef

After finishing in the top six in the past four editions of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) finally took the top spot on the podium with victory in Saturday’s 2016 edition of the race.

Van Avermaet sprinted to victory from a group of five riders, outpacing world champion Peter Sagan (Tinkoff), Tiesj Benoot (Lotto Soudal), Luke Rowe (Sky) and Alexis Gougeard (Ag2r La Mondiale) in the uphill drag to the line.

The first four of those riders had broken clear of the peloton on the Taaienberg climb, with just less than 60km to go, in a move initiated by Rowe and followed by Van Avermaet. Benoot and Sagan bridged across. The four would work their way through the remnants of an earlier 12-man breakaway group, with Gougeard the only rider able to keep pace with the quartet.

Etixx-QuickStep had missed the decisive move and took responsibility for the chase. But they were unable to chase down the leaders who, lead by Van Avermaet, crossed the line nine seconds ahead of the bunch.

“It was really important for me to win the first classics race of the season,” Van Avermaet said. “I’m happy that I could finally win a classic like this because I was close a few times here and I know how hard it is to win a classic in the springtime.”

1. be
BMC Racing Team
2. sk
3. be
Lotto Soudal

Click through to read more at VeloNews.

The CyclingTips Daily News Digest features the most important and interesting news and content from around the cycling world, published every weekday morning at 9am AEST. Get it delivered straight to your inbox.

Today’s feature image comes from Kristof Ramon and was shot during Saturday’s Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

  • FbVelo

    Even though Colbrelli got the win, just how much trouble would he get into for not exposing the team jersey? Much?

    • Ben Greeve

      Presumably he’s wearing team supplied kit. If it was in a sprint he likely had more important things to think about…

    • Dave

      Probably a €250 fine.

  • Nitro

    Jasper Stuyven @ Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne.
    Always love it when riders have the guts to “roll the dice” and head out solo 20km from home…
    The “I’m either going to win, or I’m going to blow up and die trying” approach – love it…

  • AMK3072
    • Rupert Guinness just interviewed him at Langkawi here: http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/goss-i-still-have-that-winning-spark-in-my-heart-soul-and-legs/

      He says that he still has that winning spark in his heart, soul and legs.

      “I have got to, otherwise it is too hard to get on the bike every day, isn’t it?”

      ““This is my 10th year pro. I have a lot to give to a team that is growing and wanting to learn,” Goss said. “I still think there is a race win or two in the legs.

      “I have just got to take the opportunities when they come and try to make the most of them.”

      He’s certainly not having much of a crack at any of the classifications. Results here: https://cyclingtips.com/2016/02/2016-le-tour-de-langkawi-stage-5-results/

      But as said in Rupert’s interview:

      “At the Tour de Langkawi, Goss is looking more for a form “indicator” than any specific stage result. He hopes to first peak for the Tour de Yorkshire [in May].

      “I really want to be hitting good form when we come back to Europe,” Goss said.

      “The Tour de Yorkshire is a big goal for the team, so I would really like to be going at my best for that time of the season.”

      • Dave

        That massive ranga beard won’t be helping his aerodynamics or weight, and his results certainly seem to be sending a clear message that he will be continuing the consistency of his form during 2013, 2014, 2015 through to this year.

        This is not Matt Prior’s first experience of having problems when encountering an Australian with lots of facial hair…

  • Dave

    It’s a sad day, I can now no longer deal with my failures by reflecting on my having won the same number of Oscars as Leonardo di Caprio.

    At least I’m still equal on Tour de France wins (and Oscars) with Lance Armstrong.


Pin It on Pinterest

September 20, 2017
September 19, 2017
September 18, 2017
September 17, 2017
September 16, 2017