Live stream: Evie Stevens’ UCI Hour Record attempt

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

0
Jump To Comments

On February 27,  American Evelyn Stevens will attempt to break the UCI Hour Record for women.

This will be the fourth attempt on the women’s world hour record since a modernisation of the rules in 2014. The first to beat Leontien Van Moorsel’s 12-year-old mark of 46.065 kilometres was American law professor Molly Shaffer van Houweling who made it to 46.274 kilometres before the clock ran out.  And just last month, O’Donnell added more than 600 metres to Van Houweling’s mark, rising the bar to 46.882 kilometres.

Stevens, the 32-year-old Boels-Dolmans rider, will take on the challenge in Colorado Springs in front of a live and online audience.

While breaking O’Donnell’s 46.882 kilometre mark is her primary goal, she will also attempt to beat the all-time distance record of 48.159 kilometres, set by Jeannie Longo in 1996 using the now banned “Superman” position.

And you can follow it all right here on Ella.

Be sure to tune in on February 27th to watch Stevens’ attempt live. Her start time is scheduled for 12 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. CET / 6 a.m. AEST

To follow on social media, keep an eye on #EviesHour on Twitter.

Evelyn Stevens, Hour Record practice session from cyclingtips on Vimeo.

Editors' Picks