Login to VeloClub|Not a member?  Sign up now.

Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

May 30, 2016


In today’s edition of the CT Daily News Digest: Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2016 Giro d’Italia; Dries Devenyns crowned Belgium Tour winner; Megan Guarnier and Greg Daniel win US National Road titles; Anthony Giacoppo victorious in Tour of Japan prologue; Gracie Elvin claims her second consecutive win at Gooik-Geraardsbergen-Gooik; Lizzie Armiststead wins the Boels Rental Hills Classic; Rachel Neylan solos to GP de Plumelec victory; Stig Broeckx in a coma after Belgium Tour pile-up; Bahrain Cycling Team one step closer to reality; Brian Cookson worried Rio Olympic velodrome won’t be ready in time; Mario Cipollini on the state of modern sprinting; Orica-GreenEdge Backstage Pass – Giro d’Italia stage 20.

Vincenzo Nibali wins the 2016 Giro d’Italia

by Matt de Neef

Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) has taken victory in one of the most memorable editions of the Giro d’Italia in recent memory. The win is Nibali’s second Giro title and fourth Grand Tour win overall, after victories in the 2010 Vuelta a Espana, the 2013 Giro and the 2014 Tour de France.

Nibali went into Friday’s stage 19 in fourth place, a massive 4:43 behind overall leader Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNL-Jumbo) with Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) and Esteban Chaves (Orica-GreenEdge) in between. Kruijswijk would crash dramatically on a descent on stage 19, losing nearly five minutes on his rivals as Chaves moved into pink and Nibali moved into second by winning the stage.

On the final day in the mountains, Nibali again went on the attack, trying to erode Chaves’ 44-second lead in the general classification. Nibali was again the best of the GC riders, finishing sixth and taking enough time to put himself nearly a minute clear in the pink jersey. Rein Taaramae (Katusha) won the stage solo after attacking from the breakaway.

And even the final stage delivered its fair share of drama. On the rain-soaked streets of Turin, Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo) finally looked to have won his first Giro d’Italia stage (after nine second places) but was later disqualified for deviating from his line.

Vincenzo Nibali, meanwhile, finished in the bunch to win the race overall.

  • Saeba R.


    • Cameron Harris


  • Michele

    If you haven’t read the full Cipo article it’s well worth hunting down (think Rouleur is just an excerpt). Amongst other things:

    – he explains that the reasons roosters crow in the morning is because chickens don’t wear underpants.

    – also explains how he saw himself as Robin Hood: stealing chooks from the priest – by fishing for them – and giving them to the poor.

    But amongst all the trivial stuff, he makes some great points about the state of Italian cycling.

    • Arfy

      He does realise he’d have to submit for drug tests months in advance of any come-back? I’m sure the only reason he hasn’t done one is because they’re not done publicly enough.

      • Michele

        Oh there’s no comeback. He’s just explaining how dire Italian sprinting is at the moment.

        Same edition of Rouleur has a piece on Modolo. He makes some interesting points about it as well. And a counter-argument to some degree.

        Modolo also makes some criticisms about the Italian track development and u23 racing.

        Good read.

        • Arfy

          Of course not, just pointing out his era is more oranges compared to the apples of now. Oranges have more juice.

        • Dave

          And best of all, he’s explaining it from the safe position of never having to back it up!

          How quickly could he get an Aussie passport? Combine that with his riding a bicycle and he’d be a perfect Senate candidate for the team known for using a colour halfway between yellow and blue – a colour that Cipo never won because he couldn’t ride all the way to Paris.

    • jules

      Cipo is a great interviewee. he gets it that it’s all just entertainment and he’s not a politician. his answers are outrageous and he knows it, he admits as much. but it’s far, far better reading than the usual “well I changed my training this winter to focus more on endurance…” zzzZZZZZzzzzz

      • Dave

        Simon Gerrans should take note.

  • Kieran Degan

    Someone needs to tell HH Shaikh Nasser that the phrase “achieving positive results” isn’t the best way to promote your team in the cycling world.

  • Dave

    What a pity for the sport of cycling in the US that their road championships are held during the Giro d’Italia.

    Wouldn’t it be better to hold them at a time that US riders in the international ranks could compete, and therefore go on to inspire US juniors with big performances in the national colours during internationally televised major races?

    • jiris

      That’s the problem with north-american cycling. In Canada, Nationals are held the same time as the european ones. But that means that the few canadian cyclists who race the Tour don’t compete in national, because of the jet lag. (They are usually in Europe a month prior the beginning of the Tour). It would be the same for american cyclists, and since a lot of them(high profile at least) are racing the Tour, it does make sense to held the nationals in May, instead than late June.

      • Dave

        Twice as many US riders raced the 2016 Giro as the 2015 Tour.

        Going for an August slot would be a real option. It would fit nicely between the Tour of Utah and the big Canadian races, and serve to drum up interest ahead of the world championships.

        Equally, a slot in the spring well before the stage race season gets underway could work well.

  • Dave

    Huge weekend for the Aussie ladies. Not only did we have the first European wins of the year on the road as included here, but also Caroline Buchanan getting one UCI World Champion’s rainbow jersey and one silver medal.


Pin It on Pinterest

May 23, 2017
May 22, 2017
May 21, 2017
May 20, 2017