Login to VeloClub|Not a member?  Sign up now.

Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

May 31, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Cimolai wins first road stage at Tour of Japan; UCI announces new safety rules concerning motorbike use in races; Giant-Alpecin nearly back to full strength; Etixx-QuickStep satisfied with Giro results; Dowsett breaks British 25 mile time trial record; Ex-pro David Cañada dies in Gran Fondo accident; Martyn Irvine considering return; How to survive racing at the development level; Australia announces Rio Paralympic team; Ducks could not care less about bike racing

Cimolai wins first road stage at Tour of Japan

by CyclingTips

Davide Cimolai (Lampre – Merida) won the first road stage of the Tour of Japan, in a field sprint ahead of Nippo – Vini Fantini teammates Pier De Negri and Kazushige Kuboki.

Kuboki, the Japanese champion, was visibly upset at losing out on the chance at winning at home.

The main breakaway of five riders included Australian Wesley Sulzberger (KINAN) and a rider from UnitedHealthCare.

Despite losing the sprint, De Negri takes over the leader’s jersey, having turned in a better time in the opening prologue time trial than Cimolai and the time bonuses available for the top three.

Stage 1: Kyoto > Kyoto - Stage Result

Monday 30th May 2016

1. it
Lampre - Merida
2. it
DE NEGRI Pier Paolo
Nippo - Vini Fantini
3. jp
KUBOKI Kazushige
Nippo - Vini Fantini

Today’s feature image shows the peloton on the final stage of the 2016 Giro d’Italia.

  • Gavin Adkins

    “Ducks could not care less about bike racing” – Love that headline.

    • Sean

      I couldn’t help noticing it looked like the moto rider tried to take them out.

      • MattHurst


        • Laurens

          You can hardly blame them if the road looks like a pond

  • Neil_Robinson

    for those curious as to who the aussie paralympic cycling team actually is:

    Kieran Modra – Hallet Cove, SA
    Michael Gallagher – Sunbury, VIC
    David Nicholas – Prosperpine, QLD
    Stuart Tripp – Northcote, VIC
    Kyle Bridgwood – Narangba, QLD
    Alistair Donohoe – Clifton Hill, VIC
    Matt Formston – Wamberal, NSW
    Jessica Gallagher – Seddon, VIC
    Carol Cooke – Northcotte, VIC
    Simone Kennedy – Ryde, NSW
    Alexandra Lisney (nee Green) – Mosman, NSW
    Sue Powell – Melba, ACT
    Amanda Reid – NSW
    David Edwards (pilot for Kieran Modra) – Karana Downs, QLD
    Nick Yallouris (pilot for Matthew Formston) – Chittaway Point, NSW
    Madison Janssen (pilot for Jessica Gallagher) – Lilydale, VIC


Pin It on Pinterest

September 26, 2017
September 25, 2017
September 24, 2017
September 23, 2017