Giro Rosa Round-up: a last-minute stage win for Rabo-Liv and Megan Guarnier wins the Giro Rosa!

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

The final stage in the 2016 Giro Rosa today and a group of riders, none of them dangerous in the GC, were allowed to get away.

Nine leaders escaped the peloton, among them Riejanne Markus (Liv-Plantur), the third time in a break this race, last year’s stage 6 winner Mayuko Hagiwara (Wiggle-High5) and Maria Giuli Confalonieri (Lensworld-Zannata), who finished on the podium twice in the 2016 Giro Rosa already and was obviously looking for a third podium place when joining the break.

A group of six riders wanted to bridge the gap to the lead group, but ended up in a chasse patate and were brought back by the peloton at kilometer 70. Rabo-Liv’s Lucinda Brand, who’s been practicing her bunch sprints this Giro Rosa, and Canyon-SRAM’s Barbara Guarischi, 2015 Giro Rosa stage 1 winner, were represented in that group.

The GPM climb reduced the lead group to six riders, but Rabo-Liv’s Thalita de Jong didn’t wait for the sprint and left them behind on the descent.

After three podium places for Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv), one for teammate Kasia Niewiadoma and a second place for De Jong herself in the prologue, the world cyclocross champion finally delivered Rabo-Liv a last-minute stage win in the 2016 Giro Rosa.

A second place for Markus added to the Dutch party, while Confalonieri indeed took her third podium place today.

A couple of minutes later, Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) crossed the finish line, knowing she did it!


2016 Giro Rosa stage 9
1. Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv)
2. Riejanne Markus (Liv-Plantur)
3. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Lensworld-Zannata)
4. Ingrid Drexel (Astana)
5. Ane Santesteban (Alé Cipollini)

Check out the full results later on the CyclingTips results page.

2016 Giro Rosa results

Pink jersey/GC
1. Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans)
2. Evelyn Stevens (Boels-Dolmans)
3. Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv)
4. Mara Abbott (Wiggle-High5)
5. Claudia Lichtenberg (Lotto-Soudal)
6. Tatiana Guderzo (Team Hitec)

White best young rider jersey
Kasia Niewiadoma (Rabo-Liv)

Green mountain jersey
Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle-High5)

Purple sprint jersey
Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans)

Blue best Italian rider jersey
Tatiana Guderzo (Team Hitec)


Words from the winner

“It’s been such a progress. It’s always been a progression. I can’t believe it. I really am so happy,” Guarnier commented after winning the 2016 Giro Rosa. Her team Boels-Dolmans outlined this progression of their Grand Tour winner.

With her Giro Rosa win, Guarnier also increases her lead in the Women’s WorldTour.

Women’s WorldTour standings after the Giro Rosa

Individual classification
1. (1) Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) – 886
2. (2) Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) – 545
3. (4) Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle-High5) – 493
4. (9) Evelyn Stevens (Boels-Dolmans) – 484
5. (8) Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) – 467

Young rider classification
1. Kasia Niewiadoma (Rabo-Liv) – 36
2. Floortje Mackaij (Liv-Plantur) – 18
3. Jip van den Bos (Parkhotel Valkenburg) – 10

Team classification
1. Boels-Dolmans
2. Wiggle-High5
3. Rabo-Liv


The next Women’s WorldTour race is La Course by le Tour the France on Sunday July 24.

Editors' Picks