Livestream: Rabo-Liv strongest in Norway

by Anne-Marije Rook & Jeanine Laudy


We hope you enjoyed the weekend-long livestream of a rainy but exciting Ladies Tour of Norway!

Read the brief race reports below and visit the livetsream link for replays.

Now in its third edition, the UCI2.2 stage race runs alongside the men’s Arctic Tour of Norway. Seven UCI-teams, three national teams and eight regional teams are lining up for the three day race from August 12-14.

Check out the full start list here.

Stage 1

LTON stage 1UPDATE: Rainy stage 1 went to lone winner Nicole Hanselmann

The race kicked off with a rather short stage on Friday night. The first stage consisted of a little warm-up for the peloton, with 76 kilometers in length and not too much climbing to start off with.

Under rainy circumstances, the first stage was won by Nicole Hanselmann (Cervélo-Bigla), who had left behind the peloton at the end of the first of three local laps.

Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv) jumped away from the pack as well, in the last lap, while her teammate Lucinda Brand won the bunch sprint for third place.

Rabo-Liv had been very active throughout the stage, with De Jong trying to escape earlier in the stage and Dutch road champion Anouska Koster eventually in the break of the day, together with Cecilie Ludwig (BMS Birn).

Ladies Tour of Norway stage 1:
1. Nicole Hanselmann (Cervélo-Bigla)
2. Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv)
3. Lucinda Brand (Rabo-Liv)
4. Susanne Andersen (Norwegian national team)
5. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Lensworld-Zannata)

Stage 2

UPDATE: Lucinda Brand (Rabo-Liv) wins with impressive solo
It was another grey and wet day in Norway as the women’s peloton tackled the 97-kilometre stage. After a strong start yesterday, Rabo-liv showed that they are here to win. Lucinda Brand took the initiative and attacked 20 kilometres into the race. She dangled ahead of the peloton for a long time but with no real reaction from the pack, Brand extended her lead and took off, claiming the stage victory and becoming the new GC lead. Susanne Andersen (Norwegian National team) sprinted to a second place finish with Brand’s teammate Thalita de Jong on her heels for third.

Ladies Tour of Norway stage 2:
1. Lucinda Brand (Rabo-Liv)
2. Susanne Andersen (Norwegian national team)
3. Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv)
4. Christina Siggaardd (Team BMS Birn)
5. Kaat van der Meulen (Lensworld-Zannata)

Ladies Tour of Norway GC after stage 2:
1. Lucinda Brand (Rabo-Liv)
2. Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv)
3. Nicole Hanselmann (Cervélo-Bigla)
4. Susanne Andersen (Norwegian national team)
5. Christina Siggaardd (Team BMS Birn)

LTON stage 2

The peloton takes on three climbs before reaching the local circuit in stage 2. All stages finish with three laps on a local circuit, to give the Norwegian spectators a chance to cheer on their favourite Norwegian or international riders.

With a length of 97 kilometers, it’s still quite short, but the race will be more aggressive because of it too.

The peloton takes off at 1.30 p.m. CEST (7.30 a.m. EST, 9.30 p.m. AEST) for the start of this stage, which is expected to finish at 4.00 p.m. CEST (10 a.m. EST, 12.00 a.m. AEST August 14).

LIVESTREAM STARTS AT 3.15 p.m. CEST (9.15 a.m EST, 11.15 p.m. AEST).

Stage 3

UPDATE: Rabo-Liv strongest in Norway with a clean sweep of the GC podium.

In the third and final stage of the Ladies Tour of Norway, Rabo-Liv again showed their dominance but this time it was Dutch national champion Anouska Koster who took the stage win while GC lead, Lucinda Brand, kept her lead and took home the overall.
In fact, the Rabo squad took home all but two of the prizes on offer, which were the mountains classification (won by Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig of Team BMS Birn) and the stage one win (won by Nicole Hanselmann of Cervelo-Bigla). The GC podium was an orange affair as Brand, De Jong and Koster swept the podium.

The final stage was a undulating course with a few tough climb. Not long into the race, however, everything was neutralised due to a nasty crash, and racing couldn’t resume until an ambulance could return to be present at the race.

A breakaway didn’t fully succeed until the final city-circuit, where the pack would complete three laps for the spectators. With Rabo drilling the pace at the front, a group of seven riders –three of them from Rabo-Liv — got a way.

Koster took the sprint and Brand was never in danger of losing her GC lead.

Ladies Tour of Norway stage 3:
1. Anouska Koster (Rabo-Liv)
2. Emilie Moberg (Hitec Products)
3. Christina Siggaardd (Team BMS Birn)
4. Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv)
5. Sara Mustonen-Lichan (Liv-Plantur)

Ladies Tour of Norway final GC:
1. Lucinda Brand (Rabo-Liv)
2. Thalita de Jong (Rabo-Liv)
3. Anouska Koster (Rabo-Liv)
4. Christina Siggaardd (Team BMS Birn)
5. Emilie Moberg (Hitec Products)

LTON stage 3

A 117.5 kilometer stage to finish off with, again several altitiude meters included on the route.

The peloton starts at 12.15 p.m. CEST (6.15 a.m. EST, 9.15 p.m. AEST) in the final stage to finish three hours later in Halden center, where the winner of the 2016 Ladies Tour of Norway will be crowned.

LIVESTREAM STARTS AT 2.50 p.m. CEST (8.50 a.m EST, 9.50 p.m. AEST).

Who to watch out for

"Rabo-LivWhile home rider Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) won the first stage in the men’s race, it looks like danger won’t be coming from the Norwegian riders in the women’s field.

Previous winners Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) and Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans) won’t take to the start and neither will any of the previous stage winners, so the race is wide open for new winners to emerge.

Boels-Dolmans doesn’t travel to Norway, but Rabo-Liv does line up, with a full Dutch squad. Lucinda Brand and Thalita de Jong are in great shape, having won several races in the low lands recently.

Carmen Small (Cylance Pro Cycling) is an all-rounder, able to take on the climbs as well as the usual sprint finishes, which makes her a serious contender, as well as former teammate Joëlle Numainville (Cervélo-Bigla).

Maybe Lauren Kitchen could deliver her Norwegian team Hitec Products a stage win.

If the traditional sprinters survive the climbs, watch out for Nina Kessler and Maria Giulia Confalonieri (both Lensworld-Zannata) and Sara Mustonen (Swedish national team).


Find out more about the Ladies Tour of Norway on the official website, or follow their social media accounts:

Use #LToN to follow the race on Twitter.

Editors Picks