Live from Paris: Route presentation of the 2017 Tour de France

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

0
Jump To Comments

On Tuesday, October 18, Amaury Sport Organisation will announce the route of the 2017 Tour de France, and as a media partner, CyclingTips will be streaming it live, translated into English, on this page.

The ceremony will be aired live, from the Palais des Congrès in Paris, beginning at 11:30 a.m. CEST. For those in the United States, that’s 5:30 a.m. EDT. For those in Australia, that’s 8:30pm AEDT.

Some details of the route are known — it begins in Düsseldorf, Germany, on Saturday, July 1, and ends three weeks later, in Paris, on July 23.

Also known: The opening stage is a 13km time trial through Düsseldorf, held on both banks of the Rhine River, and after his recent world time trial title, German Tony Martin will be taking the start, on home soil, in the rainbow stripes of world TT champion.

The following day the route will begin at the castle at Burgplatz, with KOM points on offer at the top of the short Grafenberg climb before circling back into the city. With a field sprint finish likely, Germans André Greipel, Marcel Kittel, and John Degenkolb will all look to win in front of friends, family, and compatriots.

From there, the route — the starts, the finishes, the sprints, and the mountains — are unknown, other than the traditional sprint finish on the Champs-Elysées. All that will change on Tuesday.

Also unknown is the official 2017 race poster. This year, ASO put that toward the fans, with seven final designs chosen. Among those voting on the final submissions are three-time Tour champion Chris Froome, world-renowned fashion designer Paul Smith, Tour de France director Christian Prudhomme, ASO chairman Jean-Etienne Amaury, and Glenn Lowry, director of the New York Museum of Modern Art. For a look at all the designs that were submitted, click here.

Video: Teaser, 2017 Tour de France route announcement

Editors' Picks