2016 Mark Gunter Photographer of the year awards

presented by CyclingTips

nearly $20,000 in prizes to be won!

Mark Gunter (June 10, 1974 – November 29, 2015) was a widely respected photographer in cycling and his loss has been felt by many. To commemorate Mark’s contribution to the community and to let his name continue to honour his passion and the best cycling photographs of each year, we are excited announce the inaugural Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards of 2016.

Together in partnership with Mark’s wife, Leeanne Gatien, we want to honour Mark and let his name live on through an award that will grow more prestigious each year.

The funds raised through this competition will be donated towards oesophageal cancer research (thanks to Tour de Cure, our donation recepient), young athlete assistance, and into an education trust for Mark and Leeanne’s son Lucas who is two years old.

Not a photographer but still want to contribute?

You can donate to the Tour of Cure to help fund oesophageal cancer research here and donate to Lucas Gunter’s education fund here. Thank you for your generosity.

The Competition

We want to celebrate the best cycling photography of 2016. The only requirement is that the photo has a connection with road cycling (track, cyclocross, gravel grinding are permitted).

Who can enter? Anyone who has taken a remarkable photo in the past 24 months.


There are three categories to this competition to showcase the best photos of 2016 while taking care to include everyone and disadvantage no one.

1. Professional: We encourage Mark Gunter’s colleagues to enter the competition such that the best professionals and their work is celebrated and acknowledged.

2. DSLR: Semi-professionals and enthusiasts alike are encouraged to submit their best work of the year (mirrorless, film and all other high-end gear permitted).

3. Smartphone and Action-Cam: Some of the best photos in the world are now taken on mobile phone cameras and action sports cams, and if you have a great eye or have simply gotten lucky with an outstanding photo, we invite you to showcase it here.

Key Dates:

Entries open: December 2, 2016

First round of shortlisting: January 9, 2017

Winners of judging and people’s choice awards: January 16, 2017



1st place: Cycling Photographer of the Year trophy

2nd place: Cycling Photographer of the Year medallion

3rd place: Cycling Photographer of the Year medallion


1st place: Specialized Allez DSW road bike

2nd place: New Shimano Di2 groupset

3rd place: Bont Vaypor+ fully custom shoes (custom fitting, colour and name stitching). Valued at $1200

Camera Phone

1st place: Trip to the 2017 Tour de France courtesy of BikeStyle Tours

2nd place: $500 voucher for the CyclingTips Emporium

People’s Choice Award Prize:

Iconic Cadel Evans 2011 Tour de France print, by Mark Gunter, valued at AUD$500


Full rules and terms & conditions


This is a prestigious photography award so it follows that four of the most prolific and experienced cycling photographers in the world will be judging the photos of the winners:

Graham Watson is arguably the most well known and experienced cycling photographer on the planet. His iconic images have captured some of cycling’s most significant moments and with 44 years of photography under his belt, he is one of the pioneers of the sporting media.

Graham Watson

Kristof Ramon hails from Belgium, the heartland of road racing, where cycling is in his blood. He has one of the most unique styles of photography in the business. He has been a professional photographer for over 10 years and prior to that he was a documentary film maker.

Kristof Ramon

Wife and husband duo Ashley and Jered Gruber are two of the most prolific photographers in the business. After years of chasing cycling around the globe, their passion for both the sport and their craft has helped elevate them to amongst the best cycling photographers in the world.

Jered & Ashley Gruber

Judges will narrow down entries to one round of shortlisting and then deliberate to choose the winner. There will also be a People’s Choice Award for the DSLR and smartphone / action-cam categories.

A very special thank you to: