Kristof Ramon’s Shortlist! 2016 Mark Gunter Photography of the year awards

by Kristof Ramon

The inaugural edition of the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year awards has been an overwhelming success in attracting some of the best cycling photographers and photos in the world, and also raising money for three charitable causes: Oesophageal cancer research (thanks to Tour de Cure, our donation recipient), young athlete assistance, and into an education trust for Mark and Leeanne’s son Lucas who is two years old.

Entries are closed and our judges Graham Watson, Kristof Ramon, and Jered & Ashley Gruber have gone through the difficult task of shortlisting their top 10 favourite photos from each of the three categories.

The judges will deliberate on the top three winners of each category in the coming days and winners will be announced next week on January 20, 2017.

Please head here to vote on the People’s Choice Award and here to nominate a young cyclist who needs financial assistance.

Here are Kristof Ramon’s shortlists:

I have to say, what I enjoyed most about watching this competition unfold and going through the selection process was seeing how on so many levels people enjoy cycling so much, either as a spectator at a race or by being on the bike themselves.

For me, I found out that most of the great photos were taken in situations where either the time of day (it’s all about light!) was special or where movement or speed was involved.
What I was looking for in my selection process was at first to sift through the hundreds of pics, it is a ‘tinder’-like process. The finer the selection, the more the picture needs to combine the qualities any good pic should have: light, composition, moment, relevance, post-production and maybe most of all: a certain timelessness!

It was tough, but here are my selections:

Professional Category

Submitted by Xisco Fuster Borreguero.
Submitted by Lee Basford.
Submitted by Bryn Lennon.
Submitted by Bryn Lennon.
Submitted by Wouter Roosenboom.
Submitted by Andy Bokanev.
Submitted by Andy Bokanev.
Submitted by Gareth Winter.
Submitted by Sean Hardy.
Submitted by Andy Bokanev.

DSLR Category

Submitted by Valentin Baat.
Submitted by Randall Fransen.
Submitted by Eugene Kim.
Submitted by Kenji Muto Quiroz.
Submitted by Stefan Feldmann.
Submitted by Sebastien Bouchard.
Submitted by Davor Jakovljevic.
Submitted by Darrell Parks.
Submitted by Hung Mai.
Submitted by Michaël Salens.

Smartphone / ActionCam Category

Submitted by Szymon Kotowski.
Submitted by Stephen Fitzgerald.
Submitted by James Wilkinson.
Submitted by Chenthil Mohan.
Submitted by Braden Lawrence.
Submitted by Matt Fee.
Submitted by James Nord.
Submitted by Calvin Miller.
Submitted by Randall Fransen.
Submitted by Andreas Dieterich.

Final judging begins this weekend and winners of each category will be announced on Monday, January 20th, 2017.

Thank you to our generous sponsors for their prize donations including a dream trip to the Tour de France from BikeStyle Tours, a new Dura Ace Di2 groupset from Shimano, a beautiful Allez courtesy of Specialized, a set of custom Vaypor+ shoes thanks to Bont, and a sunglasses/helmet prize pack from Bolle, and a $500 gift certificate to the CyclingTips Emporium.

Editors' Picks