One of the first competitors of the Stage 1 time trial made his way up Glendora Mountain Road —  4.25 miles, with a total elevation gain of 1,257 feet.

Photo gallery: 2017 San Dimas Stage Race

by Neal Rogers

Conner Brown (Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling) and Krista Doebel-Hickok (Cylance Pro Cycling) were the overall winners of the 2017 San Dimas Stage Race, held March 24-26 in San Dimas, California.

Impressively, Doebel-Hickok and Stage 2 winner Robin Carpenter (Holowsko-Citadel) were successful without teammates.

Cylance swept the opening uphill time trial on Glendora Mountain Road, with Kyle Murphy and Doebel-Hickok taking the stage win and race lead.

Carpenter won the Stage 2 road race, with Murphy defending his race lead, while Doebel-Hickok doubled up, proving she was the strongest woman in the field.

Youth prevailed on the final stage criterium, won by 21-year-old Australian Michael Rice (Axeon Hagens Berman), who denied Carpenter a second straight stage win with the help of a lead-out by teammate Christopher Blevins, and 15-year-old Megan Jastrab (Swami’s Junior Development). Murphy did not make the breakaway and fell to fourth overall. Brown took the overall title ahead of two others in the breakaway, CyclingTips columnist Jordan Cheyne (Jelly Belly-Maxxis), and Carpenter.

Photographer John Holderness of Above Four Media was on hand and brought us these images.

2017 San Dimas Stage Race Results
Stage 1 (Glendora Mountain Road time trial): Kyle Murphy (Cylance Pro Cycling); Krista Doebel-Hickok (Cylance Pro Cycling)
Stage 2 (Bonelli Park road race): Robin Carpenter (Holowesko-Citadel); Krista Doebel-Hickok (Cylance Pro Cycling)
Stage 3 (Downtown San Dimas criterium): Michael Rice (Axeon Hagens Berman); Megan Jastrab (Swami’s Junior Development)
Overall GC: Conner Brown (Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling); Krista Doebel-Hickok (Cylance Pro Cycling)

Editors' Picks