Peloton in tunnel at Scheldeprijs UCI WorldTour 2018

McCarthy best in Basque Country, Jakobsen takes Scheldeprijs: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

April 5, 2018

McCarthy wins stage 3 of the Itzulia Basque Country; Jakobsen adds to QuickStep Floors’ tally at Scheldeprijs; Van der Breggen wins stage 1 TT at Healthy Ageing Tour; Sarreau quickest on day two of the Circuit Cycliste Sarthe; Mass disqualification at Scheldeprijs train crossing; The institutional sexism in cycling needs to end; The INRNG on prize money in cycling; Hope in the Dark: Chasing the Pro Cycling Dream in Europe; Video: Inside Niki Terpstra’s win at the Tour of Flanders; Video: The Muur on fire: Ronde van Vlaanderen; Video: Why a recon? Ronde van Vlaanderen; CyclingTips Podcast: In a Tesla at the Tour of Flanders

Jay McCarthy wins stage 3 of the Itzulia Basque Country

McCarthy wins stage 3 of the Itzulia Basque Country

by VeloClub

Australian rider Jay McCarthy was best at the end of stage 3 of the Itzulia Basque Country on Wednesday, taking the bunch gallop into Valdegovia ahead of Aleksandr Riabushenko (UAE Team Emirates) and former world champion Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky).

It was the Bora-hansgrohe rider’s second win of the year after the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race, and shows his development as a rider. Overnight race leader Julian Alaphilippe (QuickStep Floors) finished sixth and retains the yellow jersey.

“The team did a stellar job today and worked the whole day really hard to support our GC leaders and help me in the final, if it all came back together,” said McCarthy. “Felix and Cece rode super strong to control the race in the last 30km. Then Gregor came in the last five kilometres to the front and did a great lead-out for me. I started the sprint early and gave it all. I am really happy with this victory and want to thank my teammates for their support.”

The hilly stage from Bermeo covered 194.8 kilometres. Christopher Juul-Jensen (Mitchelton-Scott) and Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal) sparked off the day’s break, being joined afterwards by Ben King (Dimension Data), Willie Smit (Katusha-Alpecin), Brendan Canty (EF Education First-Drapac), Pavel Sivakov (Team Sky), Ion Irisarri (CajaRural-RGA) and Aritz Bagües (Euskadi Murias).

De Gendt and Juul-Jensen later pushed on ahead and were joined by Sky duo Kwiatkowski and David De La Cruz, but everything came back together with three kilometres to go. McCarthy was best in the sprint, while Alaphilippe’s sixth place saw him retain his eight second lead over Primoz Roglic (Team LottoNL-Jumbo). Gorka Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) stays third, 39 seconds behind.

Today’s feature image shows the peloton in a tunnel at the 2018 Scheldeprijs, and was taken by the Cor Vos agency.