ASO leaves La Course at one day; Valverde wins Velo d’Or: Daily News Digest

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

Welcome to your Daily News Digest. Here’s what’s happening today:

ASO again left us disappointed as they announced La Course will still be just a single day of racing. The route is hilly this year, favouring specialists of terrain typical to the Ardennes Classics. Also, Alejandro Valverde became just the second Spaniard to win the coveted Velo d’Or award and Annemiek Van Vleuten is back on the bike. Well, sort of. Those stories and more in today’s Daily News Digest.

Story of the day: ASO again leaves La Course at one day

As with the announcement of the 2019 Tour de France route, race organiser ASO also revealed its plan for next year’s La Course by Le Tour event. Again, fans were left disappointed as La Course stayed as a one-day race.

After playing into the hands of the climbers for the last two editions, La Course will suit the puncheurs and rouleurs of the peloton with a rolling circuit race around Pau on July 19. The race coincides with the Tour’s stage 13 individual time trial around Pau.

The women will tackle nearly the same course the 27-kilometre men’s time trial will take place on. La Course will involve completing five laps of the circuit. ASO said the race distance was 120-kilometres in a press release, so we assume that either circuit loop will differ slightly from the 27-kilometre TT course or ASO is bad at math. (27×5=135km)

The profile for the Tour’s stage 13 TT around Pau.

Last year’s edition of La Course was mountainous and finished in Le Grand-Bornand. Annemiek Van Vleuten caught and passed Anna van der Breggen in the final metres after the duo battled over multiple mountain passes. It was a finale that captured the attention of the cycling world and heightened the call for ASO to create a multi-day women’s race alongside the Tour.

La Course debuted in 2014 as a circuit race on the Champs-Elysées on the final day of the Tour de France. Marianne Vos, van der Breggen, and Chloe Hosking won the three years it took place on the famous boulevard. In 2017, ASO shifted La Course into the high mountains with a summit finish on the Col d’Izoard, which Van Vleuten won.

La Course 2018 highlights

Race Radio

Valverde voted rider of the year

World road champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) received the prestigious Velo d’Or, as the rider of the year. He is the third Spaniard to win the award after Miguel Indurain and Alberto Contador.

The Velo d’Or was created by French cycling magazine Vélo in 1992 and is given to the rider considered to have performed the best over the year. It is voted on by a panel of 15 well established cycling journalists.

It’s hard to say Valverde was not the most consistent rider throughout the 2018 season. He ended the year with 14 victories (7 at WorldTour level) and claimed the world road championship, which was the one race missing from palmares.

Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) in the rainbow bands is taking a bit of getting used too. Photo: Kristof Ramon

Lance Armstrong held the record for the most Vélo d’Or awards with five, but due to his ban and results being stripped he is no longer considered the winner. Contador currently holds the record, winning the award four times throughout his career.

Dumoulin calls 2019 TDF route ‘not ideal’

Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) is not a pure climber. The Dutchman is a diesel. Dumoulin is able to ride within himself on the climbs and be disciplined enough with his pace to stay with the leaders and sometimes drop them. However, he depends on time trial kilometres to take back and gain time in the overall standings. The 2019 Tour de France has just 54 kilometres against the clock, half of which are a team time trial.

Should the Giro include a significant amount of TT kilometres, Dumoulin could target a second maglia rosa over the maillot jaune. Photo: Kristof Ramon

“It’s a very tough route. Of course, more individual time trial kilometres would have been better, so it’s not an ideal course for me, but that was also the case this year,” Dumoulin said. “There’s a lot of high climbing [above 2000 metres] with emphasis on the second half of the Tour with the Pyrenees and the Alps to be decisive.”

Dumoulin finished second overall at both the Giro d’Italia and Tour de France last year. The Giro route is set to be unveiled early next week and should it include a hefty amount of kilometres against the clock, we could see Dumoulin have another crack at a second Maglia Rosa.

Van Vleuten on the road to recovery

Annemiek Van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) was by far and away the best female rider of the 2018 season. She dominated the 10-day Giro Rosa and then won La Course two days later. She also successfully defended her world time trial championship in Innsbruck. Even more impressive was her seventh-place finish in the world championship road race because it was later revealed she finished the race with a fractured tibial plateau.

Transfer News

Kiwi Sam Bewley extended his contract with Mitchelton-Scott through 2020 season. He has ridden for the program since it started in 2012. Bewley is known for his engine and selflessly sacrificing himself for his teammates in a super domestique role. He was integral in helping defend Simon Yates’ lead in the pink jersey at the Giro before the Briton faltered spectacularly with two days remaining. He will be counted on to do more on the same next season.

Tweet of the day

The Taiwan KOM Challenge is a 105-kilometre hill climb event in which the climb begins at sea level and ascends to over 3,000 metres. Former pro Emma Pooley was the women’s defending champion, but came in second in 2018. Lucy Kennedy took top honours.

Happy Birthday to …

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (44), the German cycling legend, who has over 100 career victories to her name, will be directing the new Trek-Segafredo women’s team in 2018. Her racing palmarès includes 11 stage wins at the Giro Rosa, the 2009 Tour of Flanders, and a bronze medal at the 2011 world road championships. After retiring from racing in 2013, she returned to cycling in 2015 to serve as a director for USA Cycling’s junior women’s and men’s programs in Europe. This past season, she co-directed the Rally Cycling women’s team.

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won the 2009 Tour of Flanders as part of the Colombia-Highroad women’s team. Photo: Cor Vos

In case you missed it …

Culture: We spoke with one of pro cycling’s few black African riders, Tsgabu Grmay

Tech Review: Lezyne is relatively new to the GPS market, launching its first computer in 2016. With its new Mega XL and Mega C GPS computers, has Lezyne done enough to become the true value contender? Or do Garmin and Wahoo computers remain worth the extra expense?

Feature Image: Annemiek Van Vleuten was elated to win La Course for the second year in-a-row in 2018.

Editors' Picks