2019 Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year awards

presented by CyclingTips


Mark Gunter (June 10, 1974 – November 29, 2015) was a widely respected photographer in the cycling community, and his loss has been felt by many.

In partnership with Mark’s wife, Leeanne Gatien, we wanted to honour Mark and let his name live on through an award that would grow in prestige every year. So in 2016, we launched the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards – a way of commemorating Mark’s contribution to the community and to showcase the best cycling photographs of each year. The inaugural edition was an incredible success, with some amazing submissions, and the 2017 and 2018 editions only built on that legacy. We can’t wait to see what this year has in store!

The funds raised through this competition will be donated towards cancer research through Tour de Cure, and financially help promising young cyclists through Young Cyclist Assistance.

Not a photographer but still want to contribute?

You can donate to Tour de Cure to help fund research here.

The Competition

We want to celebrate the best cycling photography of 2019. The only requirement is that the photo has a connection with road cycling (track, cyclocross, gravel grinding, cycling landscape scenery and cycling culture are all permitted – if in doubt, think ‘drop bars’).

Who can enter? Anyone who has taken a remarkable photo between 1st January 2019 and 5th January 2020.


There are three categories to this competition to showcase the best photos of 2019.

1. Professional: We encourage Mark Gunter’s colleagues to enter the competition such that the best professionals and their work is celebrated and acknowledged.

2. Enthusiast: Semi-professionals and enthusiasts alike are encouraged to submit their best work of the year (Interchangeable Lens Cameras (ILC), mirrorless, film, compact, DSLR and other high end cameras are permitted).

3. Smartphone and Action-Cam: Some of the best photos in the world are now taken on mobile phone cameras and action sports cams, and if you have a great eye or have simply gotten lucky with an outstanding photo, we invite you to showcase it here.

Key Dates:

Entries open: 10am (AEDT) 2nd December, 2019
Entries close: 11.59pm (AEDT) 5th January, 2020

Winners of judging and people’s choice awards: January 13, 2020


Full rules and terms & conditions


$25AUD per entry (you can enter up to three photos in an entry, and enter multiple times).


For a full description of the prizes, please see here.

Professional category:

1st:Cash Prize AUD$2,500 plus the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Award trophy and medallion

2nd: Cash Prize AUD $750 plus the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year medallion

3rd: Cash Prize AUD $250 plus the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year medallion

Winners of the Professional category can opt to donate some or all of the cash prize to Tour de Cure, and give back even more to cancer research.

Enthusiast category:

1st: FELT VR Advanced with Ultegra Di2

2nd: Wahoo KICKR CORE and CLIMB Smart Trainer System, 12 month Sufferfest Training Program subscription

3rd: Bontrager Specter WaveCel Helmet and XXX Road Shoe

Smartphone/Action Cam prizes:

1st: Mavic Allroad Pro Carbon SL Wheels

2nd: Park Tool Kit

3rd: Castelli Gift Certificate USD$500

Graham’s choice:

We’re thrilled to have Graham Watson back as an honorary judge this year.

Everyone selected as ‘Graham’s Choice’ in the Enthusiast and Smartphone/Action Cam categories will be recognised, and the top three choices will receive a Graham Watson poster signed by Graham.


We are pleased to announce our Judges who are renowned Professional Cycling Photographers on the WorldTour circuit.

Chris has over 20 years experience, photographing everything from portraits to sporting events.

A chance phone call from Cycling Weekly – some years back – saw him focus on cycling photography and pursue his dream job.

These days you’ll see Chris at many World Tour events, and his magnificent images gracing the pages of many publications soon after.

Chris has been a regular contender in the Awards making the shortlist several times.

Chris Auld

Pauline is a freelance photographer based in Paris, although you’ll see her more around the world than at home! Pauline currently photographs many World Tour events for the ASO including Tour de France, Roland Garros, Paris-Roubaix, and recently the Skoda Shanghai Criterium.

Pauline placed second overall in the 2019 Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards – Professional category.

Pauline Ballet

Simon Wilkinson is an experienced sports photographer, and the founder of the SWPix.com photo agency. Based in Yorkshire, Simon has covered numerous Tours de France, along with most of the other major events in the sporting calendar.

Simon has been an active participant in the Awards and most recently ranked within the top 10 in 2018.

Simon Wilkinson

Graham has been with the Awards since its inaugural year in 2016. He is arguably the best known cycling photographer and his iconic images captured many of cycling’s most moments over his 44 years of photography.

As one of the pioneers of the cycling media, Graham brings an immense volume of knowledge and expertise in cycling photography. He and Mark knew each other well and we are thrilled that Graham is yet again part of the Awards.

This year we’ve asked Graham to be an Honorary Judge. The judging of the images will be the decision of the three photographers currently on the WorldTour Circuit – Pauline Ballet, Simon Wilkinson and Chris Auld.

Honorary judge: Graham Watson

Judges will narrow down entries to one round of shortlisting and then deliberate to choose the winner. There will also be a People’s Choice Award from the Enthusiast and Smartphone/Action-cam categories.

Funds raised will be donated to Tour de Cure, and a separate fund to support Young Cyclist Development, with recipients to be determined with the assistance of a special guest judge.

A very special thank you to:

If you have any questions about the competition or encounter any issues with your entry, please contact us at photoawards@cyclingtips.com.au