Giro Rosa stage 6: Marianne Vos wins again in Nola

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

For the third time in this year’s Giro Rosa Marianne Vos has come out on top. At the end of stage six, the CCC-Liv rider was the first of a reduced bunch, followed by Hannah Barnes (Canyon//SRAM) and Lotte Kopecky (Lotto Soudal Ladies).

The general classification remained the same, with Annemeik van Vleuten of Mitchelton Scott holding almost two minutes over Canyon//SRAM’s Kasia Niewiadoma in seconds place and just over two minutes to Anna van der Breggen of Boels-Dolmans Cycling Team.

How it happened

Ceratizit was keen for an aggressive race and started making moves early on. Various riders in ones and twos tried their luck at a breakaway for the first twenty-six kilometers but the peloton approached the base of the largest climb of the day gruppo compatto.

Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig, of FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope, led the peloton over the top of the climb and continued to build her lead in the Queen of the Mountains jersey.

After successfully executing a win in stage five, CCC-Liv stuck with their same tactics and set a pace up the next climb of the day that would guarantee a reduced sprint at the finish.

CCC-Liv successfully broke the peloton in multiple groups, but with 20-kilometers to go attacks started flying from what was left of the race.

A group of nine riders slipped off the front but couldn’t organize, and a single rider started her own adventure off the front. Mariia Novolodskaia of Cogeas Mettler remained off the front until 2km to go when disaster struck. Novolodskaia, with a 30-second advantage, and looking strong, went down in a corner and wasn’t able to get back on her bike before she was swept up by the chasing peloton, led by Canyon//SRAM.

The final sprint looked pretty much the same as stage five, with Vos leading the peloton over the finish.

It is highly unlikely 112-kilometer long stage seven will end in another bunch sprint, with the first climb of the day at around 19-kilometers in, and day continuing up and down from there. Two laps of the same categorized climb in the final 27-kilometers are likely to make stage seven’s finale an exciting one and could see some significant shuffling of the general classification. Who doesn’t love a good finishing circuit?


1. Marianne Vos CCC 2:14:24
2. Hannah Barnes CSR, st
3. Lotte Kopecky LSL, st
4. Coryn Rivera SUN, st
5. Amy Pieters DLT, st
6. Arlenis Sierra ASA, st
7. Ilaria Sanguineti VAL, st
8. Giorgia Bariani TOP, st
9. Stine Borgli FDJ, st
10. Katarzyna Niewiadoma CSR, st

General Classification

1. Annemiek van Vleuten MLT
2. Katarzyna Niewiadoma CSR, +1:56
3. Anna van der Breggen DLT, +2:03
4. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig FDJ, +3:03
5. Mikayla Harvey EPK, 4:21
6. Elisa Longo Borghini TSF, +4:32
7. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio CCC, +4:34
8. Mavi García ALE, +4:38
9. Marianne Vos CCC, +5:19
10. Elise Chabbey EPK, +5:36

Editors' Picks