2020 Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards: Now open

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

2020 has been a year like no other, but one thing is the same – the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards are back. This competition, which has run since 2016, is a yearly showcase of the best in cycling photography. The awards are held in memory of the late Mark Gunter, a widely respected Australian cycling photographer who tragically died of oesophageal cancer in 2015.

This year, the theme of the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards is ‘hope’. We want all cyclists and cycling photographers to be part of the Awards, and hope that your images will bring some light and share some joy with each other — just as they have in previous years.

In recognising the impact COVID-19 has had on all our lives — including the lack of cycling events where many entries come from — we’re encouraging you all to enter the images that represent what 2020 has meant to you.

We want to see the images that shaped your cycling lives in 2020, leaving the opportunity for you to showcase the emotion that bicycles have brought you.

Pay if you can

Over the years, the Mark Gunter Photographer of the Year Awards have raised thousands of dollars for cancer research through an entry fee. This year, there is a change: in recognition of the fact that many people have been financially affected by the pandemic, we are giving the option for photos to be entered free of charge.

Of course, the Awards are – and always will be – about making a difference, so if you can help support cancer research by paying the AU$25 entry fee, we’re very grateful to you. And if not — we’re glad you’ve entered your images this year and shared your experience.

The purpose of the awards

Just before you enter the Awards, one little reminder of why they exist: to help others. Leeanne Gatien, Mark Gunter’s wife, is the driving force behind the Awards, and shares these words:

“Selfishly, I have to admit that part of my motivation is to give my son Lucas something so special that encapsulates the values his Dad lived by. And I’m so proud to say that Lucas has grown into a kind human being, who shares some of Mark’s best qualities.

We’ve lost so many people worldwide to COVID, and sadly, it and cancer will continue to take more. May your photos bring us all light, and hope, and joy in the weeks to come.”

How it works

This year images can be entered into one of two categories: Professional and Amateur.

Wahoo | The Sufferfest has generously offered up some fantastic prizes for the top three Amateur winners in support of the competition, as they have for many years now:

1st Place: Wahoo ELEMNT ROAM + 1 year Sufferfest subscription

2nd Place: Wahoo RIVAL Multisport Watch + 1 year Sufferfest subscription

3rd Place: Wahoo TICKR + 1 year Sufferfest subscription

We’re glad to confirm that we will continue to recognise the work of the Professional category by awarding the perpetual trophy and the medallions for the top 3 winners.


This year we’re thrilled to welcome Kristof Ramon, Tim Bardsley-Smith and Jered & Ashley Gruber as our judges to adjudicate the competition. We also have Graham Watson back for another year to independently select his top 10 images of the year, and Leeanne and Mark’s son, Lucas, selects his favourite images too.

When does it start?

Entries opened at 9am Friday 4th Dec 2020, and will close 5pm Sunday 5th Jan 2021 AEDT. Winners are announced 11th Jan 2021.

How do I enter?

Head here for all of the details. If you enter before December 11, you’ll get two bonus entries.

Editors' Picks