Richard Carapaz at Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Richard Carapaz disqualified for super-tucking at Liège-Bastogne-Liège

Richard Carapaz was disqualified for riding in the "super tuck" position at Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

by Dane Cash

photography by Cor Vos


Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) became the latest rider – and the highest-profile pro yet – to be disqualified from a race for riding in the “super tuck” position on Sunday at Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

The former Giro d’Italia champion was riding solo off the front before the challenging Roche-aux-Faucons climb when, just inside the last 20 km, he hunched over the handlebars to get an aerodynamic edge. After a few moments, Carapaz returned to a more standard position on the bike.

He was ultimately reeled back in, and then after the race ended (with Tadej Pogacar taking the win), he was listed as disqualified in the official results.

At least in images circulated on social media after the race, Carapaz did appear to maintain some contact with his saddle while in the position, but the race jury decided to disqualify him.

The Ineos Grenadiers have since confirmed to CyclingTips that the disqualification was due to Carapaz having ridden in the “super tuck” position.

The “super tuck” and a few other positions have been explicitly banned, with riders facing disqualification for riding in those positions, since new rules went into effect on April 1.

Editors Picks