The men's podium at La Flèche Wallonne.

Van der Breggen and Alaphilippe nab Flèche Wallonne titles, Moscon wins again: Daily News

Anna van der Breggen and Julian Alaphilippe took victories at La Flèche Wallonne.

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

Hello again, CyclingTips readers,

As we crossed over the midpoint of the week, big names from both the men’s and women’s pelotons were in action at La Flèche Wallonne, while the Tour of the Alps continued with its third stage.

Read on for the latest from the world of cycling.

Dane Cash
News Editor

What’s news?

Van der Breggen takes her seventh straight win at La Flèche Wallonne

Anna van der Breggen stormed to victory at La Flèche Wallonne on Wednesday for the seventh straight year, topping the Mur de Huy ahead of Kasia Niewiadoma and Elisa Longo Borghini.

Van der Breggen arrived at the climb with a select lead group chasing down late attacker Ruth Winder, who was caught on the lower slopes of the climb. With a few hundred meters to go, Niewiadoma attacked, but Van der Breggen was able to keep the gap small.

With 100 meters to go, Van der Breggen sailed past and held on to claim the win. Niewiadoma settled for runner-up honors two seconds back with Longo Borghini pipping Annemiek van Vleuten for third.

You can see the full results here.

Alaphilippe nabs his third career victory at La Flèche Wallonne

Julian Alaphilippe bested Primoz Roglic to win La Flèche Wallone for the third time in his career on Wednesday, with Alejandro Valverde rounding out the podium in third.

The race came down to the final trip up the Mur de Huy, where Roglic launched a big attack with around 300 meters to go. He initially gained a gap, but Alaphilippe and Valverde followed the move, and Alaphilippe ultimately closed the distance.

With 100 meters to go, Alaphilippe pulled even with Roglic as the climb evened out, and the Alaphilippe pulled ahead, taking the win at the line.

You can see the full results here.

Valverde keeping his options open

Alejandro Valverde has said before that he plans to retire at the end of the year, but he has also hinted at times that he may ride on into 2022, and he did so again on Wednesday. After riding to third at La Flèche Wallonne on Wednesday, he noted that this might not be his final tilt at the race.

“I don’t know if that was my last Flèche or if I’ll continue for another year,” Valverde said.

“Last year, I was saying no, but this year I’ve got great feelings again, so it’s not clear if I’ll stop or carry on.”

Moscon wins stage 3 of the Tour of the Alps

Gianni Moscon took his second win so far at this year’s Tour of the Alps on Wednesday’s stage 3.

Moscon was part of the early breakaway of the day, and then he and Felix Grossschartner, Michael Storer, and Matteo Fabbro formed a strong lead group of four that got clear on the final climb of the stage.

That quartet made it to the finale, where Moscon went long in the final kick. Only Grossscharter came close to matching him, but Moscon held on to take the win with Grossscharter settling for second and Storer taking third. Simon Yates finished safely in the peloton to retain his overall lead.

You can see the full results here.

Fayetteville 2022 race director steps down

Brook Watts announced on Wednesday that he had stepped down as race director for the 2022 Cyclocross World Championships, which are set to take place in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Arkansas recently passed anti-transgender bills that have led to some calls for boycotts of sporting events in the state.

“It is with the greatest disappointment that I share with the cyclocross community today that I will no longer be participating as the race organizer of the 2022 Cyclocross World Championships,” Watts said in a statement. “The situation in Arkansas remains problematic and unfortunately, I don’t see any satisfactory solution. I have sincerely but unsuccessfully attempted to work out my concerns and differences with the constituents. However, regrettably, they were not successful.”

In case you missed it …

Editors' Picks