Anna van der Breggen wins a very wet edition of Durango-Durango Emakumeen Saria

Most aggressive and impressive ride award goes to Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig who finished third behind Annemiek van Vleuten.

by Abby Mickey

photography by Cor Vos

Anna van der Breggen (SD Worx) won Durango-Durango Emakumeen Saria from a three up sprint. Annemiek van Vleuten (Movistar) was second behind the world champion and Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) put in a very impressive performance to take third.

The final one-day ahead of the WWT stage race Vuelta a Burgos was aggressive. Apparently, the rain in Spain falls mainly on the women’s peloton because the roads, riders, and camera lenses were soaked.

An elite group containing Uttrup Ludwig went clear on a climb 20 km to go. Near the top of the climb, Uttrip Ludwig hit out alone while behind Van der Breggen and Van Vleuten set out to chase the Dane down.

Van der Breggen and Van Vleuten caught and passed Uttrup Ludwig on the penultimate climb with 11 km to go. The two Dutch riders continued on to the finish together while Uttrup Ludwig fought to catch back on. She finally did in the final 800 meters but was unable to best Van der Breggen in the sprint.

Durango - Durango Emakumeen Saria (1.1) Durango → Durango

VAN VLEUTEN Annemiek Movistar Team
LUDWIG Cecilie Uttrup FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope
NIEWIADOMA Katarzyna Canyon SRAM Racing
SIERRA Arlenis A.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team
CHABBEY Elise Canyon SRAM Racing
MAGNALDI Erica Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling
SANTESTEBAN Ane Team BikeExchange
STULTIENS Sabrina Liv Racing

Editors' Picks