Joe Dombrowski wins stage 4 of the Giro d'Italia.

Joe Dombrowski wins stage 4 of the Giro d’Italia from the break

Joe Dombrowski took his first Grand Tour stage win on stage 4 of the Giro d'Italia, while a few GC hopefuls gained time on the day and others struggled.

by Dane Cash

photography by Cor Vos

Joe Dombrowski (UAE-Team Emirates) stormed to his first Grand Tour stage win on Tuesday’s stage 4 of the Giro d’Italia after spending nearly five rain-soaked hours in break. Fellow escapee Alessandro De Marchi (Israel Start-Up Nation) nabbed second on the day ahead of Filippo Fiorelli (Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè), and De Marchi took the pink jersey in the process. Behind, there was some action among the overall favorites as well, as a few big names picked up time while others struggled.

The 187 km stage from Piacenza saw a big breakaway move jump clear early on, with Dombrowski, De Marchi, and Fiorelli among those in the escape. The break held on to battle for the stage win, with Rein Taaramae (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) and Chris Juul-Jensen (BikeExchange) leading into the Colle Passerino that topped out only a few kilometers from the finish, but Dombrowski and De Marchi gradually reeled them in. Near the top of the climb, Dombrowski attacked and pulled away, and despite De Marchi’s best efforts, there was no catching the 29-year-old American from there. For De Marchi, at least, second place would come with the consolation prize of the overall race lead.

A little ways down the climb, João Almeida (Deceuninck-QuickStep) was among the notables unable to keep the pace in the GC group. As riders continued to drop off the back, Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo) jumped off the front of the group. Mikel Landa (Bahrain Victorious) then did the same, and then Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers), Hugh Carthy (EF Education-Nippo), and Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech) bridged to make for a five-rider selection gaining ground on the rest of the GC hopefuls.

Bernal would lead that quintet over the line 1:37 behind Dombrowski, gaining 11 seconds on the likes of Remco Evenepoel (Deceuninck-QuickStep), Romain Bardet (DSM), and Simon Yates (BikeExchange). Vincenzo Nibali (Trek-Segafredo) and Jai Hindley (DSM) would lose 34 seconds to the Bernal group, while Almeida arrived more than four minutes behind the 2019 Tour de France winner.

Giro d'Italia (2.UWT) Piacenza → Sestola

DOMBROWSKI Joe UAE Team Emirates
DE MARCHI Alessandro Israel Start-Up Nation
FIORELLI Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè
VERVAEKE Louis Alpecin-Fenix
TRATNIK Jan Bahrain - Victorious
VALTER Attila Groupama - FDJ
EDET Nicolas Cofidis
OLIVEIRA Nelson Movistar Team
TAARAMÄE Rein Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux
JUUL-JENSEN Christopher Team BikeExchange

DE MARCHI Alessandro




Bahrain - Victorious

Editors' Picks