Startlist: Road pros and other stars from the wide world of cycling set for 2021 Unbound Gravel

The Flint Hills of Kansas.

by Dane Cash

photography by Linda Guerrette

Unbound Gravel organizers have unveiled the start list for this year’s race, which will take place in Emporia, Kansas on June 5.

After the cancellation of the 2020 event due to COVID-19, the 2021 edition of the race will see 2019 champions Amity Rockwell and Colin Strickland back for more action on the 200-mile trek through the rough terrain of the Flint Hills of Kansas, along with several other big names from the wider world of cycling.

2017 winner Alison Tetrick is also among the headliners on the start list for the women’s 200-mile race, as are WorldTour road pro Tiffany Cromwell (Canyon-Sram), cyclocross talent Rebecca Fahringer, multi-time top five finisher Kae Takeshita, and 2019 Rebecca’s Private Idaho winner Kaysee Armstrong.

Lael Wilcox and Amanda Nauman, meanwhile, will both among the marquee riders racing the 350-mile Unbound XL.

The full Unbound Gravel start list is available here.

As was the case in 2019, Strickland will face several current or former WorldTour roadies in the men’s 200-mile race. Trek-Segafredo teammates Kiel Reijnen and Quinn Simmons will both be in attendance, as will Movistar’s Matteo Jorgensen, who is currently racing the Giro d’Italia. Former WorldTour pros on the start list include Ian Boswell, Pete Stetina, Travis McCabe, Alexey Vermeulen, Laurens Ten Dam, and Thomas Dekker. Other big names include Payson McElveen, John Borstelmann, and BMX star Jamie Bestwick.

Editors Picks