The Ineos Grenadiers at the Critérium du Dauphiné.

The Ineos Grenadiers unveil their Tour de France squad

The Ineos Grenadiers will have three Grand Tour winners and a podium finisher at last year's race at the upcoming Tour de France.

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

The Ineos Grenadiers have announced their starting eight for the 2021 Tour de France, and as expected, the team will be sending three Grand Tour winners and a podium finisher at last year’s Tour to this year’s edition of the race.

Geraint Thomas, Richard Carapaz, Tao Geoghegan Hart, and Richie Porte headline a squad that also includes Michal Kwiatkowski, Jonathan Castroviejo, Luke Rowe, and Dylan van Baarle.

It remains to be seen which of their many star riders the Ineos Grenadiers plan to back as team leader. The press release announcing the roster did not offer many clues on that front either, with team principal Dave Brailsford instead hinting that the team plans to ride an active race.

“We won’t win this Tour by sitting in the wheels. We have the team to make it a racers’ race, take the initiative, seize every opportunity and make our opposition focus for every kilometer of every stage,” Brailsford said.

“We have changed our race philosophy this season to being more open and aggressive. Our performances have built all season and a joy of racing has infused the whole team. This more adventurous approach has led us to fearless racing and this is exactly how we will hit the Tour. We will seek out every moment in every stage where the race is on and try to exploit it. Key for us this Tour is our collective strength and camaraderie to the end.

“Expect the unexpected.”

Editors' Picks