Wout van Aert makes his way up Mont Ventoux.

Wout van Aert wins stage 11 of the Tour de France

Wout van Aert takes his fourth career Tour de France stage win after two trips up and over Mont Ventoux.

by Dane Cash

photography by Cor Vos

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) powered to his fourth career Tour de France stage win on Wednesday, nabbing stage 11 from the break after two trips up and over Mont Ventoux.

Van Aert joined a big move that went clear in the early goings and would eventually link up with other attackers to form the day’s break, and he held on as the group lost riders going over the first ascent of Mont Ventoux. On the second time up the climb, he joined Kenny Elissonde (Trek-Segafredo) on the attack, and then, with around 32 km left in the stage and 11 km left in the climb, he soloed clear. From there, he quickly worked up a sizable gap that no one would manage to close through the rest of the stage.

Behind, the Ineos Grenadiers rode a high tempo most of the way up the climb, dropping several riders out of the yellow jersey group, including Ben O’Connor (AG2R Citroën), who started the day in second overall. Shortly after the last Ineos rider, Michal Kwiatkowski, peeled off the front some 2 km from the top of the climb, Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) put in a stinging attack.

Race leader Tadej Pogačar followed the move at first, but before long he began to flag, while Vingegaard pressed on. The Dane took around half a minute over the top of the climb as Rigoberto Urán (EF Education-Nippo) and Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) made their way back up to Pogačar. On the descent, however, the chasing trio closed down most of Vingegaard’s advantage before catching up to him as the road flattened out before the line.

Van Aert held on to take the stage victory, while Elissonde arrived 1:14 back to take runner-up honors with his Trek-Segafredo teammate Bauke Mollema just behind in third. A further 24 seconds later, Pogačar led Urán, Carapaz, and Vingegaard over the line together. O’Connor would arrive nearly four minutes behind the quartet, allowing Urán to move into second overall with Vingegaard now in third and Carapaz in fourth.

Tour de France (2.UWT) Sorgues → Malaucène

VAN AERT Wout Team Jumbo-Visma
ELISSONDE Kenny Trek - Segafredo
MOLLEMA Bauke Trek - Segafredo
POGAČAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates
URÁN Rigoberto EF Education - Nippo
CARAPAZ Richard INEOS Grenadiers
VINGEGAARD Jonas Team Jumbo-Visma
LUTSENKO Alexey Astana - Premier Tech
KELDERMAN Wilco BORA - hansgrohe
MAS Enric Movistar Team





Bahrain - Victorious

Editors' Picks