Astana-Premier Tech racing the team time trial at the Settimana Internazionale Coppi e Bartali.

Astana-Premier Tech will become Astana Qazaqstan next season

The Astana team has unveiled its new name for next year.

by Dane Cash

photography by Cor Vos

The squad currently known as Astana-Premier Tech has announced its new name for 2021. With Premier Tech departing as a title sponsor at the end of this season, the team will become Astana Qazaqstan in 2022.

“Qazaqstan is the most accurate and correct name of Kazakhstan in its English transcription,” the team said in a statement. “Qazaqstan is a kind of new brand of the state on the international stage, which is combining centuries-old traditions, language, culture and strategy of the country’s development in the today’s world.”

Alexander Vinokourov, whose reinstatement as team manager after his temporary removal from the role reportedly drove Premier Tech to its decision to end its sponsorship, said that the team’s name change will coincide with “closer integration of our sports brand and promotion of the Republic of Kazakhstan as a major international partner.”

That will mean further involvement for the Kazakhstan Cycling Federation.

“I am happy with the fact that Kazakhstan Cycling Federation is going to play an important role in the development of the renewed team and the implementation of ambitious plans, which will be announced in the nearest future,” said Nurlan Smagulov, the president of the Kazakhstan Cycling Federation.

“Also, I am happy that our federation will be presented both in the Board of Directors and in the management of Astana Qazaqstan Team. We envisage strengthening the team’s work with the federation in the transfer of professional skills to domestic athletes and specialists as well as deeper participation of Astana Qazaqstan Team in the life of Kazakhstan cycling.”

In addition to its new name, the team will see significant turnover in its roster next season. Aleksandr Vlasov, and Ion and Gorka Izagirre are among the notables known to be leaving the squad, while Vincenzo Nibali, Gianni Moscon, David de la Cruz, and Joe Dombrowski have all been confirmed as new arrivals for 2022.

Editors' Picks