Primož Roglič wins stage 7 of Paris-Nice.

Primož Roglič takes his first victory of the season on stage 7 of Paris-Nice

Roglič defends his race lead and picks up a stage win on the Col de Turini.

by Dane Cash

photography by Cor Vos

Primoz Roglič secured his first victory of the season and further bolstered his GC case on Saturday’s stage 7 at Paris-Nice, where he crossed the line ahead of Daniel Martínez and Simon Yates on the Col de Turini.

Finishing atop a long and difficult climb, the 155.5 km stage from Nice was inevitably going to have major GC implications, and Roglič was up to the challenge of defending his race lead on the mountainous terrain.

As the GC hopefuls closed in on Gregor Mühlberger, the last survivor of the early break, Adam Yates fired off the first major attack on the final climb. Roglic, Martínez, and Nairo Quintana, however, were able to follow, and then Roglič made a move of his own. Initially, Martínez was the only rider capable of hanging on, though Quintana and Simon Yates would eventually catch back up.

The four leaders traded attacks inside the final few kilometers, and then João Almeida worked his way into the fray after the flamme rouge, but Roglič surged clear inside the last few hundred meters to take the win. Martínez settled for runner-up honors on the same time with Yates in third, two seconds back. Quintana was fourth at nine seconds back with Almeida taking fifth a further two seconds behind, and then Brandon McNulty was the next rider across the line at 25 seconds down.

With his stage win, Roglič defended his overall race lead to Simon Yates, who sits 47 seconds down, while Martínez moved into third overall as Pierre Latour dropped down to eighth. Only one day of racing remains at Paris-Nice as riders will take on an up-and-down stage 8 that will start and finish in Nice on Sunday.

Paris - Nice (2.UWT) Nice → Col de Turini

ROGLIČ Primož Jumbo-Visma
MARTÍNEZ Daniel Felipe INEOS Grenadiers
YATES Simon Team BikeExchange - Jayco
QUINTANA Nairo Team Arkéa Samsic
ALMEIDA João UAE Team Emirates
MCNULTY Brandon UAE Team Emirates
HAIG Jack Bahrain - Victorious
YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers
POELS Wout Bahrain - Victorious



MADOUAS Valentin


UAE Team Emirates

Editors' Picks