Early breakaway comes to the line in photo finish at Vuelta a Burgos Feminas

Matilde Vitillo takes the win in photo finish with Nina Buijsman on stage two.

by Amy Jones

Stage two of the Vuelta a Burgos Feminas saw an early breakaway of seven, who got clear after just under 40km of racing, stay the course.

Nina Buijsman (Human Powered Health), Lara Vieceli (Ceratizit – WNT), Matilde Vitillo (BePink), Nora Jencusova (BePink), Jennifer Ducuara (Colombia Tierra de Atletas), Aranza Villalon (Eneicat – RBH Global), and Maaike Coljé (Massi Tactic), had a lead of up to 6’30”

Natalia Franco (WCC Team) and Catalina Soto (Bizkaia – Durango) attempted to bridge to the leaders but were stuck in limbo and eventually caught after the peloton began to chase in earnest.

On a much faster day than the previous stage, which saw winds affect the race, the peloton started to bring down the gap with around 40km to go with SD Worx, the team of race leader Lotte Kopecky, setting the pace with the help of Canyon//SRAM.

As the gap began to diminish Team BikeExchange attempted to attack with Kristen Faulkner however the American was reeled back and the chase continued.

In the closing kilometres it was the seven rider breakaway against the might of the peloton with all of the teams working hard to pull them back. With 5km to go the gap fell to under one minute but the breakaway riders continued to work well together despite having spent 90km in front.

As the seven riders approached the line and started their sprints the peloton came into view behind but it was too late. Buijsman and Vitillo were the two fastest riders and came to the line together resulting in a photo finish. Despite Buijsman’s celebrations as she crossed the finish, Vitillo was in fact the rider who took the stage with Vieceli taking third.

After stage two, Ducuara leads the GC by 6 seconds ahead of Kopecky and the rest of the peloton from yesterday’s sprint finish.

Vuelta a Burgos Feminas (2.WWT) Sasamón → Aguilar de Campoo

BUIJSMAN Nina Human Powered Health
VIECELI Lara Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling
VILLALÓN Aranza Valentina Eneicat - RBH Global
DUCUARA Jennifer Colombia Tierra de Atletas - GW - Shimano
COLJÉ Maaike Massi - Tactic Women Team
KOPECKY Lotte Team SD Worx
NORSGAARD Emma Movistar Team
DRONOVA-BALABOLINA Tamara Roland Cogeas Edelweiss Squad

DUCUARA Jennifer




Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling