Ivar Slik wins Unbound Gravel 200. Photo William Tracey

Dutch beach racer Ivar Slik wins Unbound Gravel in four-up sprint

A Dutch beach racer wins Unbound.

by Caley Fretz

Dutchman Ivar Slik won a four-up sprint to win Unbound Gravel 200, beating defending champion Ian Boswell, Keegan Swenson, and Laurens ten Dam.

Slik, 29, is an elite-level beach racer, races on the road for UCI continental team ABLOC, and on gravel for the Wilier Triestina factory team.

Four riders made up the front group with 40 miles remaining as Ten Dam chased 90 seconds behind. By mile 186, the Dutchman had all but regained contact, and with 15 miles to go the front group was up to five.

Ten Dam made the first move from that select group but failed to gain any real separation. Boswell was next, and his acceleration dropped Alexy Vermeulen from the group.

Slik stuck on through both attacks and was clearly the fastest in the finale. “No one could attack anymore but I trusted my sprint,” Slik said.

Slik pointed to the sky as he crossed the line, a dedication he later explained was for Mo Wilson.

“The last month has been hectic with Mo Wilson,” he said. “I didn’t know her personally but I know that she had a great impact on the gravel scene. I didn’t want to be too happy in the finish because it’s a really sad situation. I wish the family all the best.”

Earlier in the day, self-described “desk jockey” William Harrison won the 350-mile Unbound XL. We’ll update this post with additional results as we get them.

Unbound Gravel 200


  1. Ivar Slik, 9:22:04
  2. Keegan Swenson, 9:22:05
  3. Ian Boswell, at s.t.
  4. Laurens Ten Dam, 9:22:12
  5. Alexey Vermeulen, 9:22:27
  6. Rob Britton, 9:24:26
  7. Russell Finsterwald, 9:28:22
  8. Peter Stetina, 9:31:00
  9. Payson McElveen, 9:31:15
  10. Adam Roberge, 9:32:28

Editors' Picks