It’s happening: Filippo Ganna will take on the Hour Record next month

The attempt is set to take place October 8th at 8 PM CEST.

Don’t miss out on the latest CyclingTips updates.

Jump To Comments

The Ineos Grenadiers have announced Filippo Ganna will make his much-anticipated attempt at the UCI Hour Record in just three weeks. Ganna will take to the boards of the Grenchen Velodrome in Switzerland at 8 pm CEST (19:00 BST / 14:00 ET / 04:00 AEST) on October 8th as he attempts to add his name to the illustrious list of Hour Record holders.

Many consider the double world champion and Olympic team pursuit gold medalist as good as a nailed-on certainty, but his job was made considerably harder when Dan Bigham set a new record of 55.548 kilometres last month. In what must be a first, the current Hour Record holder Bigham is now making sure the record challenger, Ganna, has the best chance of breaking that record.

Bigham not only set the new Hour Record recently, but as he explained in a recent episode of the Nerd Alert Podcast, he analysed, researched, and optimised every aspect of the Hour record for both his own attempt and an attempt from Ganna initially scheduled for just a few days later.

I’m looking forward to the challenge, even though it’s going to be an hour of pure suffering. It will be interesting to see how my body holds up, and just how far I can go – it’s a chance to really test your physical and mental limits. To undertake a prestigious event like this is an important step in my career.

Filippo Ganna

The initial attempt from Ganna was ultimately postponed, as the Italian recovered from the Tour de France. Seemingly fully recovered, Ganna has now confirmed the new October 8th date, and although the bar has been raised, Ganna also has all the experience and knowledge garnered from Bigham’s successful attempt on his side. Not to mention, a hefty number of watts.

Combining Ineos Grenadiers and Dan Bigham’s expertise with Ganna’s power, and support from Ineos partners including Pinarello, Bioracer, Kask, Muc-Off, Continental, Fizik, CORE, and Princeton Carbon Works sets up the mouth-watering prospect of seeing just how far Ganna can ride in one hour.

Rod Ellingworth, the Deputy Team Principle at Ineos Grenadiers, explained, “When it comes to taking on events like this we leave nothing to chance – constantly refining what and how we do things is part of the genetic makeup of the Ineos Grenadiers team. It’s inspiring to work alongside some of the best brains in the business. It’s that kind of care and consideration that shows our athletes how much we want them to do well.” 

As part of the Hour Record build-up, Zwift will host two exclusive training rides with Ganna in the weeks prior to his attempt. Zwifters can ride with Ganna in two virtual rides which take place on: 

  • Friday 23rd September @ 13:00 UK / 14:00 CEST / 08:00 ET / 22:00 AEST
  • Friday 30th September @ 13:00 UK / 14:00 CEST  / 08:00 ET / 22:00 AEST

Editors' Picks