Your Wednesday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

February 1, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Kittel takes Dubai Tour opener; Route announcement: Mt. Baldy summit, Big Bear TT to be decisive stages for 2017 Amgen Tour of California; Route details announced for 2017 Amgen Breakaway from Heart Disease Women’s Race; No longer backing Contador, Majka stepping up a level in Grand Tours; CyclingTips podcast, Episode 24: Genevieve Jeanson on making peace with a tainted past; Back from the brink: The merger that saved IsoWhey-SwissWellness and the year ahead; Froome ready for Jayco Herald Sun Tour; Twenty teams to race 22nd Tour de Langkawi; Ciolek and Gerdemann retire; Simon Cope vows to clear his name; British Parliamentary group to investigate legal bias against cyclists; Video: Heroics in Bieles; Video: Interview with Christine Majerus; Video: Equipment for cyclocross.

Froome ready for Jayco Herald Sun Tour

by CyclingTips

The 64th edition of the Jayco Herald Sun Tour begins on Wednesday evening with Chris Froome (Team Sky) going for back-to-back overall wins, while three former winners — Simon Gerrans (ORICA-Scott), Cameron Meyer (KordaMentha Australian National Team), and Calvin Watson (Aqua Blue Sport) — will be trying to prevent that.

“People ask me the same thing about the Tour de France – going there as defending champion. Personally I don’t like to look at it like that. It’s a clean slate each time you go in and you’ve got everything to gain as opposed to going in there with a defensive mindset. Every edition’s different and I’m here to race to the best of my ability,” Froome said.

Adding to the challenge will be 2016 Giro d’Italia runner-up Esteban Chaves, giving ORICA-Scott a two-pronged attack.

“This year’s going to be even more competitive with the likes of Chaves here. It looks like he’s in great shape after a good block of racing already. I think we’ve got a good team down here as well. Unfortunately we’re a rider short but what we lack there I think we make up with in the quality of the rest of the guys.”

The racing kicks-off at 6:15 p.m. local time and you can follow coverage right here on CyclingTips!